A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weigh in & Yet another depressing US obesity headline

on June 8, 2016

First up, my weigh in: As of this morning I’m up 0.4 lbs from last week. Before my crash Sunday, I was down three pounds, so I think I may have a little swelling. However, I also had a little M&M problem last week so it may be real. Regardless, I’m keeping on with my plans. Tracking food, moving every day, drinking water and avoiding night time snacks. I’m M&M free for two days, so that’s a win. πŸ™‚ Most importantly, every day I feel like it is getting easier to make the good choice and that’s the most important part.

Yesterday, yet another study came out about the state of obesity in the US, showing that despite increased awareness obesity is a problem, our rates of obesity haven’t changed and in fact have increased in women over the last ten years or so (see the paper here). Over a third of men and 40% of women have BMIs over 30. I’m not sure why we continue to behave like obesity is a problem of individuals making bad choices. If it is affecting this many people (and these numbers are just obese individuals – not overweight; even with the imperfection of BMI, this is a lot of people!), it’s a problem beyond one person’s lack of will power or whatever else people like to blame. It’s more than a little depressing, and yet I’m not surprised. Importantly, all this study tells us is that this is still a problem we haven’t “fixed” with our increased awareness of obesity- it doesn’t really look at why or place blame, likely because there isn’t a single reason we’re getting heavier as a society. Regardless of why, it’s clear we as a society have a problem with this, not just individuals and we need to find a way to make it easier for all of us to be healthier, not just those of us with the resources to take the extra steps to seek out healthier choices.

Because this is just a little update type of post (and that last paragraph was downer), I don’t have a picture to share but I have to show you guys this:

Not sure what to really say about this
I’m not sure what to think of this. I am intrigued I must confess (and suspect this is triggered by the fact that I have a “geek gifts” pinterest board for gift ideas for Darrell). I’m sort of curious to see what a Star Trek dating board would entail, but am afraid to go down that rabbit hole.

What’s the most unusual board you’ve run across on Pinterest? Anybody else surprisingly not surprised by that study showing unchanged and even increasing obesity rates?

 

 

6 responses to “Weigh in & Yet another depressing US obesity headline

  1. amsiebee says:

    Every day that I am able to avoid M&Ms is a total victory! πŸ˜› Well done! πŸ™‚

  2. Run Wright says:

    I am not surprised by the study considering that 10 years ago, I was in the average weight category and now I’m classified obese myself.
    It’s not as easy to lose and maintain a normal weight as some people might think.
    http://runwright.net

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Wow, that study is depressing. But thanks for ending be giving me a laugh!

Leave a Reply

