A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Happy Global Running Day!

on June 1, 2016

Today is Global Running Day, a day for people around the world to celebrate the joys of running. I’m linking up with Kristen at Jonesin’ for a Run for the annual running link up and reflection (and reminder to myself to get out and run today!). This is my third year celebrating Running Day and I’ve enjoyed looking back at my prior years’ reflections to see how my thoughts on running have changed (2014 and 2015).
Global running day

Why do you run?
My answer from last year is still pretty perfect: “I still remember my first run, as a 250 pound mom without a good sports bra or good shoes or any idea what I was doing. I’d decided to start running to help along my weight loss, which resulted in 100+ pounds of weight loss in a year that I’ve now maintained for almost two years. I tackled longer distances to give myself a new goal once I’d met my weight loss goal and as a way to help myself keep the weight off. I keep running because it keeps me sane, makes me respect my body in a way weight loss never did and makes me a much better role model for my son than I ever was before.”

In the last year, running has to come to mean even more as it has helped me handle both the mental frustration and worry that came with my lupus diagnosis, as well as the physical symptoms of lupus. I have a whole new gratitude about running now and appreciation for every day my body is in good enough shape to let me get out there and do it.

How do you plan to celebrate National Running Day?
I confess I forgot to wake up early to run today. πŸ™‚ Oops! I think I’ll take Oliver out for a little run around the block after dinner tonight so we can celebrate together.

How many miles have you run so far this year? Do you have a mileage goal for the year?
I don’t have a mileage goal this year, so I haven’t actually tracked it! Maybe I’ll set a mileage goal next year to force myself to keep track.

What big events do you have on the race calendar so far this year?

This year, I’ll be doing back to back half marathons with the Kansas City and Des Moines Half Marathons in October. I’ll follow that with my very first marathon in January 2017. It’ll be here before I know it!
What have I done?!

Before I leave for a run I must have:

My phone, my headphones, my hat, my shoes and my sunscreen. I’ve been doing a lot more running without my watch or Garmin lately, which is fun, and I’m always forgetting my water bottle (bad Jessica!)

Do you track your runs? If so what do you use?

I track my training and workouts here on the blog, which is fun for me to look back at and helps me stay accountable, but otherwise I haven’t been diligent about tracking workouts lately. I’ll step it up when I get to my back to back half marathon and then marathon training in a couple of months, because both of those are going to be new experiences where I really need to pay attention to how I’m doing.

Who is your favorite running partner?

As an introvert, I relish the time alone I get when I run. Otherwise, my favorite running partners are Oliver, who brings a whole new joy to running, and lately, Hamilton. πŸ™‚
Obsessed

If you have to give someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be?

It always seems impossibly hard at the beginning, but if you stick with it, you’ll be amazed by what you can do.

Describe your relationship with running in one word:
Grateful.

How are you going to celebrate Global Running Day?

4 responses to “Happy Global Running Day!

  1. kstewjones says:

    Loved your interview! Thanks for linking up! keep up the good work!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Not sure how I missed that today is global running day! You have a great story. It’s awesome that running has helped you so much and become such an important part of your life. I love that we all have unique stories and different journeys, but there’s a common thread in that running is so important to us. As for me, today is my rest day from running, so I’ll be celebrating by reading running blogs. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

