A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Does this summery weather help you make healthier choices?

on May 26, 2016

It seems like we’ve finally turned the corner into officially warm weather here, after a lingering cool spring. In a lot of ways that makes my goal to reset my diet before summer vacation a lot easier.

– It’s a lot easier to be active during our family leisure time in the warmer weather. We head to the park and the zoo and for family walks because it isn’t too cold or too dark. It’s great time to spend together and a lot more healthy-lifestyle friendly than hunkering inside in front of the fireplace like we do far too often in the winter.

Lots more playground workouts when the weather is this nice!

Lots more playground workouts when the weather is this nice!

– Thanks to our fantastic surrounding farmlands, late spring and summer in Nebraska are overflowing with fresh fruits and veggies. Not only is my own garden already overflowing with my giant blackberry bush (with watermelon and tomatoes to come later!) but I also have access to glorious farmers markets and my local Community Supported Agriculture program. There’s no excuse for skipping the produce around here!

I'll probably be treating myself to loads of lovely berries. They can be expensive, but worth it nutritionally for that feeling of splurging.

I’ll probably be treating myself to loads of lovely berries. They can be expensive, but worth it nutritionally for that feeling of splurging.

– The longer days mean less working out in the dark, which is safer and infinitely more pleasant.

Summer is a particularly motivating time for me, as I started my weight loss journey four years ago in July, hit my goal weight three years ago in July and started running four years ago in August. Lots of healthy lifestyle anniversaries to celebrate!

Summer training builds serious toughness and the step down from the heat of summer to the cool crisp air of fall makes for great fall races!

Are there things that make summer harder? Sure – I’ve got vacation and birthday cakes to deal with (both O and I are summer babies). I’ve also got the added complication of too much sun causing lupus flares and the very real potential that I’ll eat a watermelon a day, which isn’t good for my stomach or my wallet. All of that produce adds up! All in all, though, this is definitely an easier time for me to focus on healthy habits than winter is.

Do you find it easier or harder to maintain your diet and fitness this time of year?

Leave a Reply

