A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Getting back on track step by step

on May 25, 2016

My weigh in this week was 189.8, which was eye opening to say the least. I was sort of (okay, very much) in denial about how much I’d gained and any time I stepped on the scale and saw 180s, I’d make excuses. Teetering on the edge of the 190s, it’s time to face facts. I’m also feeling these extra pounds in a way I haven’t in a long time. I feel the fat on my thighs and see it on my arms.

I confess to you guys that there’s a part of my brain that still wants to deny this or put it off until after summer vacation. That line of thought is tempting, but imagine a) how much more weight will I gain during that time? and b) how much good could I do for myself – and possibly my weight – with even a few weeks of “good” behavior before my vacation. Honestly, if I put it off I’ll be back over 200 pounds and getting under 200 pounds was a such a HUGE milestone that I don’t want to do it again.

Instead, I’m going to make an action plan. I have a few weeks until vacation and I’m going to make the most of them. I’ll make a couple of goals each week of good habits to establish, taking it step by step. This might help my weight drift back down. It will most likely (fingers crossed) keep me from going up any more. Most importantly, it’ll have me go into my vacation with a healthier mindset as opposed to a defeatist attitude (a guaranteed binge trigger!).

This week’s goals:

  • Track EVERYTHING, every day. I’ve gotten into the habit of tracking breakfast and then not tracking the rest of the day once I get off track. Is it any wonder I’ve gained 15 pounds in a year? Tracking is key. My goal this week isn’t staying in my calorie count – it’s being honest with myself about tracking all of it.

image

  • Stop the negative self talk. You know I said above that I’ve noticed my weight more this time in my legs and my arms and my clothes? Let’s just say that my mental thoughts about that are not kind or in any way the way I would talk to a friend and certainly not the way I should talk to myself. When I catch myself having those negative thoughts, I’m forcing myself to counter with a intentional positive, loving thought about my body.

It’s tempting to think about fixing everything at once, but I know focusing on a couple of key behaviors at a time is more likely to produce lasting change for me. I’ll be honest with you guys here about my success with these goals and with the scale, because I know accountability is key for me. I know the weight loss will be slow, but the habit changes are the most important piece because my diet has definitely slipped more than a little.

What small steps have you taken to improve your health lately?

 

2 responses to “Getting back on track step by step

  1. HoHo Runs says:

    Denial (or even justification in my world) is an easy thing to slip into. Kudos to you for recognizing it and taking action. That’s the biggest step! And, you’ve already accomplished that.

Leave a Reply

