A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Recovery and Resetting

on May 23, 2016

I took this week off from running to recover from the hilly Papillion Half Marathon. My legs stayed sore for a couple of days after that race, so they needed a break. I had an active week overall, though, thanks to a visit from my parents and lots of home improvement projects.

Workouts

Monday Rest

Tuesday A lovely hilly walk with O while we were home together for the morning. He had testing for early entry into kindergarten (his birthday is two weeks past the cut off, so it isn’t actually that early but he still has to take the test). I was anxious but he was cool as a cucumber about the whole thing. I enjoyed our walk – it helped settle my nerves. He asked me what manhole covers were and I told him they allowed access to the sewers and drainage under the street. I asked him what sewers were for. His answer? “Ninjas.”
Ready for anything

Wednesday, Thursday & Friday Home improvement central, which meant tons of trips up and down the stairs, lots of lifting and hammering and LOTS of squatting. I was sore but I now have a new mantle for the fireplace in my basement (previously an unfinished box), electrical outlets in the storage section of my basement, garage shelves and a workbench, a new media center and lots of other little things done. I am so grateful this week for their help!
Good deed

My good deed this week was wearing O’s new Captain America watch to work all day on Friday to break it in a bit because he said it was “tight and stabby.” I did get lots of interesting comments on it through my meetings all day. 🙂

Saturday I went for a walk to the grocery store early in the morning and spent the rest of day running around for tee ball, pre-K graduation (where is time going?!) and enjoying my parents last day in town.

Sunday We went for a family walk in the evening hitting up our local ice cream place (which has a dairy free option!) because Oliver told us it was important to get more exercise. Good idea kid.

All in all, a very active week with an average of 10,000 steps a day and 10 flights of stairs every day. This morning, I threw out the cookies we’d had in the house all week/weekend during my parents visit. Apparently, cookies are not something I can handle having around in any quantity. I found myself eating more and more of them, only without witnesses naturally and in that rapid inhaling of a binge eater. Sigh. I normally don’t have trouble with desserts in the house but apparently something about cookies is bad news. Lesson learned and at least today I finally threw them out rather than convincing myself I should just eat them all to finish them. NSV?
Removing temptation

This week is all about resetting my healthy eating after yet another cookie-apocalypse and getting started with my off season training plan of running, strength training and planning for my hike. After a week off running, I’m ready to get going again! I have a 5 mile hilly race over Memorial Day weekend so I definitely want to get a least a few miles in to remind my legs that they know how to do this before race day, even if this is just a fun family run.

Are you handy? Do you handle your own home improvements or hire those chores out? We aren’t particularly handy ourselves, so I’m very grateful that my parents are!

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Recovery and Resetting

  1. HoHo Runs says:

    Great job in getting your steps and stairs in this week! We (the hubs) does most of our smaller home improvement projects. One of my kids had that same Disney hat years ago. So cute. And yes, sewers are definitely for Ninjas. We had several graduation events which included sweets. I ate my share and am glad this week is over in that regard. Thanks for linking with us Jessica!

    • Left to our own devices, I think my husband and I would never get around to finishing any home improvements. It just doesn’t ever rise to the top of the list. I suspect painting the lovely mantle my parents built will only rise to the top of the list during the week before their next visit. 🙂

  2. Good job on the mantle! Thankfully my husband is great at that kind of thing! That is after I make it his idea to do something then he is on board! If he doesn’t know how to do it or fix it then he knows someone. 🙂
    Enjoy your Memorial Day race!

    • I’m looking forward to it. O and I have made great memories at this race for the last two years. 🙂 I suspect this will a new personal slowness record as I’m feeling like a slug, but maybe I’ll set a goal for most smiles or high fives for volunteers.

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    HUGE kudos for throwing out those cookies. I have never been able to do that. The closest I get is putting them in the freezer, which works well to stop eating them right then but, of course, they’re still there. 😦

  4. Ninjas… Oh boy is he cute! Best answer EVER 😁

Leave a Reply

