A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A Race Etiquette Question

on May 16, 2016

I don’t have much to wrap up in terms of workouts this week – one run Tuesday, gardening on Saturday and a half-marathon on Sunday – so we’re going to start this wrap up with a running etiquette question. Yesterday, I ran the Papillion Half Marathon for the second year in a row. When I was waiting in line for the port-a-potty pre-race, two stalls opened right as they started playing the national anthem. The guy in front of me and I both stopped in our approach to the stalls because the anthem had started and looked at each other uncertainly. They were having trouble with the audio for the anthem and would play a few seconds, then stop for a bit and try again. After a couple of false starts with the music, he and I both took advantage of a pause in the attempts to start the anthem to dash into the stalls. They ended up having someone sing the anthem a capella while we were both in the stall. My question: Would you head into a port-a-potty during the national anthem if one opened up or do you wait until it is over? It felt like the right thing to do to wait, but that was a first for me and apparently him too. I confess I’m grateful for the technical glitches that gave us enough of a pause to dash in since the race started as soon as the anthem was over! I also confess I held my hand over my heart in the stall, as much as was practical anyway. TMI?

I promised myself I’d at least run once before my race last week, so I hauled myself out of bed early to run Tuesday morning. Other than that little run, it was mostly week of lots of walking. I made the ill-advised decision on Saturday to do a lot of work in my yard and ended up with my worst allergy attack EVER. My throat was scratchy and swollen and my eyes were swollen and watery. It was hard to keep them open! I’m grateful that Darrell went out to get some allergy eye drops for me Saturday night and I took an extra dose of Claritin (NOT recommending you do that) to try to get to the point that I could see to run Sunday. It was bad enough that Darrell and I actually discussed how much I REALLY needed to see to run a half marathon. My eyes were better and I could see, which was good, but all in all this is the worst my allergies have been since moving to Nebraska. Boo! I think the extra Claritin was a bad idea because I ended up feeling really dry during my run Sunday and my heart rate was way higher than it should have been for my pace.
Medal

Regardless, I finished the race feeling good about myself for spending a couple of hours out running on a beautiful spring day so that’s a win. I got lots of smiles from seeing the spectators (sparse but enthusiastic) and volunteers on the course. My good deed was thanking each of them for coming out for us. It’s a small race, but there were lots of people at each aid station helping out and cheering us on. I also got a cute new medal and a new respect for the hills on that race course. My quads are still seriously sore today!

Needless to say, my ten flights of stairs goal won’t start until next week. I’ll take this week to recover from the half marathon, with lots of walking and stretching. My parents are coming tomorrow to help with “fix its” around my house, which should be fun and its own kind of exercise this week! We’re finishing the trim on my mantle, installing new electrical outlets and my new media center, building shelves and a work bench in my garage and a host of other little chores.

My NSV this week was taking a bite of O’s pie on my fork at Village Inn and then putting it back down before I ate it. Those little bites are part of what has gotten my in trouble lately! I also gave Darrell half of my baked potato dinner on Saturday night because I realized I was full. I was tempted to say “carb loading” and finish it even though I was full. I’m proud of myself for resisting that urge!

NSVNow that I’m done with really long runs for a while, I’m going to work on really tuning up my food before marathon training in August. I felt these extra pounds and poor food choices on those hills Sunday!

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

What do you think – is it okay to head into the port-a-potty during the anthem if a spot opens?
I worried the long line of people behind were irked that we weren’t moving along, but it felt wrong.

14 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A Race Etiquette Question

  1. Gail says:

    LOL!! Not too much information. It is perfectly fine to head to a POP if your national anthem starts playing, It is NOT ideal, AND you should have done your thing well before the anthem started, because as you pointed out, the race started right after. The people who should be at attention when the NA is being played are the people at the starting line and in the corrals. I just recovered from colon cancer and things work a bit differently now (TMI)? so if I’m in line it is because i HAVE to go…anthem or no anthem.

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I’d have been just as perplexed as to what to do! Waiting does seem the right thing. But I’m glad it worked out for you since the race started right after. Glad you got your allergies under control and enjoyed your race!

  3. Congratulations on your finish. That pie looks so good. If you gotta go you gotta go. I’d hate to have to wait til it was over and then not be able to start the race on time.

  4. I would have gone into the porta potty during the anthem. I like your spirit–I’d put my hand over my heart too. A runner’s gotta do what a runner’s gotta do!

    Oh, that pie…

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    Congratulations on your half marathon and conquering those hills. Running on a beautiful spring morning IS A WIN! I really like that medal. I’m sorry to hear your allergies had kicked into high gear though. I think you had the right idea with your hand over your heart in the porta-potty! I need to tune up my eating before I start marathon training this summer as well. Thanks for linking with us Jessica!

  6. Oh wow I haven’t been in that situation over the porta potties either. Sounds like you took advantage of the pause. Congratulations on your race!

  7. I think you did the right thing by waiting until the National Anthem was finished playing. Congrats on your race! That pie looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

