A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Survived breaking the running rules

on April 18, 2016

One of the things you run across frequently in articles and blogs about running are the importance of avoiding back-to-back “hard” workouts if you want to avoid injury and burnout. I’ve probably even talked about it here. This week, I confess I totally violated that rule. After a week on call and then my big project at work, I didn’t get any runs at all in until Friday. What I SHOULD have done was just pick up the training plan as it was and run easy miles on Friday and Saturday and then my long run Sunday. I don’t have a time goal for this race so it isn’t worth risking injury to try to get in those hill repeats and tempo miles. Naturally, I talked myself out of that perfectly rational plan. Oops!

Workouts

Monday/Tuesday: No workouts because I was just too busy and too tired! I respected the need for rest. I was grateful however that I got this lovely little box of chocolates from a student who I helped with a last minute assignment:

Thank you

My NSV this week is the fact that I immediately shared these with everyone else rather than eating them myself and only allowed myself to have one carefully selected (and tracked!) treat. They were so cute!

Wednesday/Thursday: No runs, but I did get in some family walks and some strength training with Oliver in the living room one evening. I taught him burpees and he taught me squats. I wish I could be in his class to see a bunch of pre K kids doing squats! So cute!

Squats

Friday: I finally got out to run! I took a couple of hours off for some personal time after a busy week and got in 4.5 miles. Since I’d missed my hill workout on Tuesday, I decided I’d run all of the hills on the route, which ended up at 10+ hills. My legs felt it the next day! I also got to run on our neighborhood’s brand new sidewalk (which I was part of approving thanks to my role on the SID, which was cool). Looks like someone got out there before they wanted us on it! Oops! It wasn’t me I promise! I felt good to run again.

Fresh sidewalk

Saturday: I’d registered ages ago for a 5K on Saturday morning, so I decided to make that my 3 mile tempo run for the week (again, not a choice I’d recommend with hills on Friday and long run Sunday!). In deference to my Friday and Sunday workouts, I decided I’d just stick to my 2 minute run/30 second walk intervals I’ve been doing for races rather than focusing on a particular tempo pace. Those intervals got me to a 11:30/mile pace, which felt tough by the end (but the last mile was still my fastest!). More details on the race coming later this week.

Sunday: Long run day, which was definitely needed since I’d had the week before this off for call and the week before that, shorted my long run by a couple of miles. I targeted 11 miles and just worked on getting them done, not worrying about pace. My legs were definitely a little sore from hills and tempo miles after 10 days off! I had Darrell and Oliver drop me at the park since it was a lovely spring day and I wanted a change of pace from the neighborhood. There’s a big loop around the lake, so you just keep running until you hit your mileage point. I appreciate the break from worrying about picking up extra bits of miles on this road and that road like I do when I run in the suburbs. I was pleasantly surprised by how good these miles felt and that my pace was 13:15/mile even though I felt like I was taking it really easy. I definitely have a half marathon in me next month even after this lackadaisical training cycle. I did notice the heat as I got closer to noon, which reminded WHY I decided not to set a big time goal for spring half marathons any more: It’s just too hard to adjust to running in heat after training through winter!

Long run

My good deed this week was holding the broken port-a-potty door closed for another runner while we were out Sunday. They still haven’t opened the real bathrooms or turned on the water fountains in the parks here!

Oliver made me a “snack” after my run because I’d run lots of miles. 🙂

Snacks

I ended up at 18.5-ish miles for the week, which is shorter than I’d intended this week but reasonable all in all. I have two more long runs before a little taper and race day on May 15th.

Thankfully, my legs feel good despite breaking the “rules” this week. I promise not to make a habit of it. This week, I’ll stick a little more closely to the training plan to finish strong. Next week, I’m traveling to Baltimore so I’ll have to juggle things a bit to get my last long run in but all in all, I feel ready for a relatively painless and enjoyable half marathon next month. That’s really my only goal for the race (although if I beat my prior time on that course, it would of course be nice!).

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our weekly wrap up!

weekly wrap up

What running rules have you broken in your training?

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Survived breaking the running rules

  1. Alison says:

    Those chocolates are so cute! What a fun treat! I would have definitely been feeling all those hills the next day too!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Those chocolates are adorable! Glad you got some good runs in and are feeling good & confident for your race. And yes, this spring weather is so temperamental!

  3. Meg B says:

    What a lovely place for a long run! I think I might do something like that this weekend if the weather is nice. Destination long runs are great.

    Well done, on not eating the whole box of adorable and yummy looking chocolates!

  4. Those chocolates look so good! I think I would have eaten the whole box in one sitting! But hey the snack Oliver made you has zero calories, I hope you did eat all if it! That was so sweet of him!
    Broken rules? Well in a race I’ve sure broken the rule about nothing new! I paid the price too but at the time I wasn’t thinking.

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    It’s hard not to break those running rules sometimes. Hey — isn’t that what the Hanson method is all about? Running on tired legs? I’d like a change of pace sometimes when I run, but I run so early and can’t seem to convince myself to get in the car. I know I’d enjoy running around a lake. I bet watching Oliver do burpees was a lot of fun! Thanks for linking with us Jessica.

Leave a Reply

