A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

What would I say to myself as a beginning runner?

on April 12, 2016

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic asks what advice we’d give ourselves as beginner runners, if we could go back in time. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone has to say! Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting.

ToTR logo

I still vividly remember my very first run. The absolute first thing I’d tell new-runner me? GOOD FOR YOU! I’m still amazed I got out there and got started. I was over 250 pounds, it was AUGUST (who starts running in August?!) and I was woefully unprepared, but still I did it.

Other things?

  • Good sports bras are worth the money. I still remember the stretched out flimsy sports bra I wore for that first run (and far too many after that – for months!). Back then, I was 46DDD. I needed a serious sports bra and waited far too long to plunk down that money. Seriously the best money I spent on running.
  • The second best money? Get over the fear of the running store and get good-for-you shoes. Everyone has a different “right” shoe for their running. I was so intimidated by the running store that I put it off to start with and was SO NERVOUS when I did go. They were so helpful (check my first experience here) and the running store is definitely a happy place of mine now.
Worth the investment in time and $$!

Worth the investment in time and $$!

  • I promise no one is looking at you as harshly as you think they are. I knew I didn’t “look like a runner” and this made me self-conscious to run through my neighborhood and go to the running store and run races. Most people aren’t thinking of you or looking at you at all. Most of those who might notice you and think about you are thinking “good for you.” That sliver who might be thinking the worst? Who cares what they think.
  • The first mile? It’s always going to suck. That’s okay. It isn’t going to hold you back from tackling half marathons and race challenges and an impending marathon.

We might talk some more about things I learned in my first race and how to pick a first race. We might talk about reining it in a bit when we get too gung-ho about buying running stuff. You really don’t need so much stuff. 🙂 (Seriously check out all of the stuff around my waist in this race photo! I didn’t need to carry this much!)

I didn't get in line for the official photo in front of the castle, but there were photographers catching us in movement too (and videos!)

I didn’t get in line for the official photo in front of the castle, but there were photographers catching us in movement too (and videos!)

Mostly, I’d assure myself it was worth the work. Running has brought me stress relief and self-confidence. It has helped me a good role model to my kiddo. It has helped me meet some fabulous people through this blog. All in all, totally worth it. Good for you, new-me runner! Get out there and do it again!

13 responses to “What would I say to myself as a beginning runner?

  1. Good read! How long have you been running now?

  2. I used to wear those cheap cotton sports bra. Spending money on a good sports bra is so worth it.

  3. Patty H says:

    I think I started running in August too- IN TEXAS. What on earth? But we kept doing it, so looks like it was ok in the end, right?

  4. Great list! I completely agree on quality vs quantity when it comes to running gear and shoes. No point in having a dozen pairs of shoes if none of them are comfortable and they all induce blisters, right? YES on that first mile always feeling awful. I’ve learned to live with it. And you are right, nobody ever looks at us or judges us for running. I sure don’t notice anyone else when I’m so busy trying to focus on my own goals!

  5. lachicaruns says:

    Fun! I like your skirt, too. Thanks for linking up.

  6. Anna says:

    Good advice…one of these days I might have to take the running plunge 🙂

Leave a Reply

