A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Nearing the end of a big deadline!

on April 11, 2016

I think my professional life is just a series of big deadlines these days. This is what success looks like, I guess? Regardless, I have another big deadline this Friday and I’m looking good to be done with my work on the project in the next day or so. Whew! I think I’m definitely due a mental health day off after I’m done with this project!

I was on call this week, so there weren’t any dedicated workouts but I did meet my goal of 10,000 steps a day every weekday (I confess, I let myself rest a bit on the weekend since my workload was pretty heavy this weekend). I also got 10 flights of stairs of day, 10 glasses of water and tracked my food. My healthy habits are going strong. The scale, not so much. I’m still up from New Orleans more than I expected to be at this point which is frustrating. Boo. Instead, let’s focus on some positives.

  • I did some fun cooking from Cooking Light this weekend including these chocolate buckwheat waffles with berries. Per usual, I screwed up the first couple of batches but once I topped them with the yogurt and berries, they were gorgeous and yummy. The texture of the buckwheat is a little grainy but it was a nice change of pace and gluten free if you have gluten free guests.

Waffle fail

  • I also modified the chicken gyro bowls in this month’s Cooking Light to make a kid-friendly build your own chicken gyro bowl “bar.” We all loved it – the tahini sauce definitely makes the dish!

Gyro bowls

  • I also made a strawberry cream cheese bundt cake for Darrell’s job because it’s been a long time since I sent them anything. Sad trombone: It crashed in the truck when Darrell was driving to work. I told him to be sure to tell them I’d tried to send something so I still got credit.

Disaster

It was nice to do some cooking over the weekend since we tend to mostly “survive” in terms of food during busy weeks on call. I love cooking and Oliver and I had a blast making all of these things together. He was particularly interested in whipping egg whites for the waffles. “It’s like magic Mama!” This week, I’m trying a couple of other things from this month’s Cooking Light. I’ll let you know what works out well!

My NSV this week was buying doughnuts for my team after a really tough week but not eating any of them myself in the car on the way to work. I did track and allow myself one with them later, but resisting them in the car felt like a big win after a stressful week. I’m grateful that Darrell and Oliver are such troopers when I’m working and keep things running at home! My good deed this week was picking up random garbage all over one of the hospitals I was visiting this week. For some reason, there just seemed to be lots of little things on the floor that had gotten dropped. Maybe they are always there and I’m only now noticing? Regardless, I made it my mission Thursday and Friday to pick up everything I came across. I felt like I was doing a little nice thing every time I did it. 🙂

That’s all I’ve got this week. Off to one more meeting today – it’s been a LONG day! It started with a meeting a 7 am and is finishing with a meeting of the Sanitation Improvement District at 5:30 where I’m going to have to sign off on road improvements in my neighborhood. Ah the life of a minor public official.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up! I’m looking forward to getting back to running this week – a month to go until the Papillion Half Marathon! Is it nuts that one of the things I’m looking forward to on that “mental health” day I’m scheduling is a nice long run?

weekly wrap up

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Nearing the end of a big deadline!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Oh no!!!! The strawberry cream cheese bundt cake accident is tragic! Good luck with this next big deadline. You definitely deserve a rest afterward!

  2. HoHo Runs says:

    I think a nice, long run is the perfect thing to do on your mental health day. Too bad about the cake! But, I’m super impressed with it’s matching cake carrier. I think I see chick peas in your gyro bowl bar. Those are so good on/with anything, or just by themselves. Hopefully things will calm down at work after this project is over. That’s what I keep telling myself, anyway. Thanks for linking with us Jessica.

    • That cake carrier was $1 years ago in the Target dollar aisle I think – I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth! We are huge fans of chickpeas. Oliver calls them “bonzo beans” and for a long part of his toddlerhood, they were the only protein he’d eat!

  3. I think a long run is perfect recovery from a tough week!
    Oh no I so feel your pain on the cake in the floor board. I use to make cakes for people, and once that happened to me. I swear I was up until like 3AM baking and decorating another one. Geeze. Thanks for linking up with us, hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

