A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Definitions of success

on April 6, 2016

Monday evening, I was working late and ran across someone I don’t see very often. She remarked on how good I looked and gave me the “good for you” that is always slightly awkward for me – I know it comes from a good place, but it’s uncomfortable somehow to say thanks gracefully when someone comments on how nice I look after losing weight. The remarkable thing, however, wasn’t that someone complimented me on my weight loss but rather the fact that it caught me off guard because it’s been so long since someone commented on it. My current size is my new normal. Most people I encounter either don’t know I was ever larger or have gotten so used to my current size that it isn’t remarkable anymore. That was sort of mind blowing when it really sunk in. I’ve been in the “slightly overweight” category, instead of the morbidly obese category, for almost 3 years now.

Before and After 2009 to 2013

I spend so much time berating myself about regaining a portion of my weight that I forget how remarkable the change in my life has been. Not only am I much smaller, I’m healthier in pretty much every way. Even the lupus would be much more miserable if it had happened 5 years ago, with a less healthy diet, no exercise and a hundred extra pounds on my sore joints.

I also thought about this when I was reading the most recent O magazine (gotta stay entertained on the plane!) and read about a woman who had her goal as getting to a size 12. That was my original goal, did I ever tell you guys that? I couldn’t imagine ever getting any smaller than that but decided I’d be thrilled with being a gorgeous and curvy 12 because I’d be smaller and healthier, but most importantly: I could shop at Ann Taylor. Ann Taylor was my aspirational store. I loved their clothes but could only ever buy accessories when I went in there with my friends because nothing there remotely fit me. I will say, I still love Ann Taylor, but I forget sometimes what a success it is to be able to shop there. The girl I was 5 years ago would have died to be able to walk in and pick something up off the rack easily there or anywhere.

I hope I never forget that girl I was because she was pretty awesome. She’s the girl my husband married. She’s the girl who started off my currently kick ass career. She’s the girl who gave birth to my fabulous kid. She’s the girl who was brave enough to take on her diet and to start running, back when it seemed impossible. I need to remember how awesome she was and celebrate the things she was working so hard for. She would consider the fact that I’ve been only “slightly overweight” for 3 years now a HUGE success. She was a smart chick. 🙂 I should trust her judgement.

Do you find yourself moving the bar of success rather than appreciating what you’ve accomplished? The world spends a lot of time telling us we aren’t good enough. Be sure to take time today to recognize that you are!

10 responses to “Definitions of success

  1. I love every single thing about this post! ❤

  2. Meg B says:

    I LOVE this! You are awesome!

  3. Love this post today. So inspirational. ❤

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    This is profound, actually. We shouldn’t move the bar, but we SHOULD celebrate the accomplishment. You look amazing! (You should post more pictures!)

  5. Run Wright says:

    You look great and I hope you do celebrate instead of pushing yourself too much. I think being the healthiest version of yourself should be the goal and you seem to be in that place right now. In the words of your friend, Good for you! 😀

Leave a Reply

