A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A handful of humid New Orleans miles

on April 4, 2016

Last week in New Orleans, I was reminded of why I didn’t start running until I left the humidity of the south. Holy cow is it harder to run down there! On the one hand, it was super flat but on the other, the feeling of running through a warm fog more than made up for the break I got from the hills. Nonetheless, I enjoyed getting out to see the city when it was quiet and early and all in all, it was a much more successful trip than Memphis was. I returned feeling good about my food and activity choices, rather than defeated. I absolutely indulged in beers and shrimp po boys and beignets, but I tracked (almost) everything and got over 10,000 steps every day. Not bad!

Workouts

Monday I got 3 easy miles in on Monday, just in case I had to miss a run with the travel later in the week.

Tuesday I traveled to New Orleans Tuesday morning and was much better prepared with healthy snacks to stay on track for the trip. I got in a nice walk through the French Quarter and then did my speed intervals on the hotel treadmill. When I first looked at the workout (intervals of 1-2-3-2-1 minutes X 2), I thought there was no way I could do it since I was tired after traveling. Turns out, I totally could do it. 🙂 Nice little ego boost!

Wednesday Rest day! 10,000+ steps from lots of walking around New Orleans, but no runs

Thursday Tempo run X 2 miles, with half a mile warm up and cool down. Nothing exciting, other than leaving me longing for the chance to run on something other than the hotel treadmill!

Friday The chance to run on something other than a treadmill was all the motivation I needed to wake up early for this easy 3 miler, even though it was raining. I ran through the French Quarter primarily and it was interesting to experience it without the sounds of people and music like I typically hear on those streets.
Bourbon street in the rain

Saturday 4 miles along the Riverfront at sunrise and around Canal Street, in crazy Nebraska style wind!

New Orleans sunrise

Sunday When I got back home Saturday night, I was tired and that carried over into Sunday morning. I had plans with my guys Sunday morning, so I didn’t head out to run until Sunday afternoon. I took a nap before the run because I was so tired but it was a super slow run, with way more walking than I normally do. The temps and wind were high and I didn’t bring enough water, so I felt parched by 7 miles of the planned 11. I ended up cutting the run short at 9 miles because I’d gone so slow I ran out of time before our dinner reservation. Ah well. 9 tough miles is nothing to sneeze at and I’d technically gotten over a mile in on a family walk earlier in the day, so it was a lot of time on my feet.

As always after a travel week, I’m grateful to be safely home with my guys. My good deed was translating lots of Louisiana foods on the menus for my Midwestern colleagues at this meeting this week. My NSV is tracking even on the days I went in the hole calorie wise. It was hard but somehow empowering to be honest with myself!

This week, I’m on call again (thankfully the last time until after Memorial Day!) so my goals will be to get 10 flights of stairs and 10,000 steps a day, along with 10 cups of water. Nice round numbers right? After a week with 25.5 miles and loads of steps, a little step back will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our weekly wrap up! How was your week?

weekly wrap up

 

13 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A handful of humid New Orleans miles

  1. Love the pictures.You did great, glad you found a way to stay on track with healthy snacks.

  2. Sounds like a successful trip all around! Glad you had a nice time. And yea, the humidity here blows.

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Great week! Tracking while traveling and working out while traveling are two of my biggest challenges and something I want to get better at this year. Glad you got to enjoy the beignets! What did you decide to bring O. back?

  4. […] Weekly Wrap-Up: A handful of humid New Orleans miles Apr […]

  5. Meagan says:

    Love that picture of the French Quarter! I’ve never been there, but I bet it would be a really neat experience to run through it while it’s quiet and empty.

  6. Ahhh welcome to the humidity of the South Jessica 🙂 I guess it is just as hard for yall to grasp running in the high humidity as it is us running in single digit temps. I am so glad your trip to New Orleans was great. You know either you love NOLA or you hate it, seems like people either find the good things or waller in the negative things about the City.
    I am so glad you got to run on the Riverwalk and through the French Quarter, wasn’t it just amazing? Now I’ve never run before sunrise so that is something I want to do there. Great job on keeping in line with your tracking and bringing you healthy snacks. Where is your next trip South? I’m headed up to Memphis this weekend to run a half and I’m taking the family with us so that should be interesting.

  7. HoHo Runs says:

    Humidity is no joke around here. We were so lucky it was low the day of RnR NOLA. I like your 10/10/10 goal for this week. That’s a great way to remember what to do. 25.5 miles is a great week! So, a step back week will be perfect. Thanks for linking with us.

Leave a Reply

