A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Favorite & Least Favorite Weight Loss Mantras

on March 30, 2016

Today, I found myself spouting one of my favorite bits of weight loss advice, “Don’t give up anything to lose weight that you aren’t willing to give up forever” which had me thinking about some of my other favorites.

  • Don’t give up anything to lose weight that you aren’t willing to give up forever is an important reminder, for me, that this is a lifestyle change and something I want to be able to live with forever in order to stay healthy. From a practical, scale-based perspective, I also know that if I give up something to lose weight, I’m probably going to regain weight when I try to reintroduce it. The forbidden also becomes really tempting and finally giving in to that temptation can make me feel like a failure. You have to set yourself up for success in order to stick with changes in your diet – this is hard enough without setting yourself up for failure. If you can’t give up all sweets or all carbs or all whatever, think long and hard before you choose that as a weight loss strategy.
  • Make the next good choice is useful when we do stray into that sense of failure. Just because one thing goes wrong doesn’t mean everything else has to. We’re human. We’re going to make lots of mistakes. Learning how to pick ourselves up and move on is a crucial survival skill! It doesn’t have to be perfect – just make the next choice you make a better one than the one before. πŸ™‚

You know my least favorite weight loss mantra? Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels. TOTALLY not true for me. I’ve been at a normal BMI, which is as “skinny” as I’ll ever be. It felt good but you know what? LOTS of things taste better than that felt. Food is GOOD.
Mr Bs bistro

My dinner last night absolutely tasted better than skinny feels, for me. That’s a spinach strawberry salad, with crab-topped grouper and a scrumptious lemon ice box pie at Mr. B’s bistro. All delicious!

Overall, this trip is so far going much better than Memphis. I’ve made better food choices and the indulgences I’ve had were totally worth it. I feel in control. I even skipped a beignet yesterday because I wasn’t hungry! Totally different than my Memphis trip, for sure. I’m posting my food on Facebook or Instagram to keep myself honest and have healthy choices in my bag in case of emergency. I’m ready for this!

What are your favorite and least favorite weight loss mantras?

6 responses to “Favorite & Least Favorite Weight Loss Mantras

  1. Meg B says:

    I agree 100% with your first bit of advice!

  2. Courtney says:

    I prefer “nothing tastes as good as being healthy feels” – a much better and more positive message πŸ™‚ I also like “sweat like a pig, look like a fox” even though pigs don’t sweat, lol. “Pain is temporary, quitting is forever” is another fav because working out often is mind over matter!

  3. fitwithnogym says:

    Def my favorite – “If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you”

Leave a Reply

