A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

TotR: Dream Running Sponsor

on March 29, 2016

Today’s Tuesday’s on the Run topic is your dream running sponsor which made me laugh when I first read it on the list because I am fairly sure no one is ever going to sponsor this mid-to-back of the pack mother runner unless maybe it is the folks at my local coffee establishments who keep me upright and going!
Coffee yum

Side note: Sitting in New Orleans currently having just finished a divine iced coffee from PJ’s Coffee. Holy yum! I’ll definitely be bringing some of this coffee home with me.

Thanks to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting the link up as always. I was entertained to see that several people have mentioned airlines as their dream sponsor. Wouldn’t that be lovely?

My job and the need to avoid conflicts of interest mean I wouldn’t be able to accept any kind of ambassadorship or sponsorship, but based on the things I find myself talking to people about the most, I’d be sponsored by:

  • SparkleSkirts: LOVE LOVE LOVE them and it’s been over a year since I got a new one. I’m overdue! I seriously sing their praises when I’m at races and people ask about my skirts. I’m usually doing a little tour of the pockets and chafe-proof leggings in the back of the pack while the front lines are warming up! 🙂
image

This white skirt was my first Sparkle Skirt and still a favorite for races! It’s held up well for over two years and lots of miles – totally worth the investment!

  • Feetures Socks: May nothing else ever be on my poor runner feet! Seriously, I’ve been blister free since I started investing in these and as sweaty as I am, that says a lot about their quality because I used to be super slip-slidey and blistery.
  • Village Inn: I know they aren’t a running sponsor, but they keep my family running as our go-to “I don’t feel like cooking” dining option. (It’s an IHOP like diner for those of you in places without Village Inn) We’re literally there 2-3 times a week. They’ve watched Oliver grow up and helped him grow up since we’re comfortable enough there that we let him practice things like paying for food and asking a hostess for a table when things aren’t busy.
  • Vionic Orthaheel Sandals: I used to have trouble with plantar fasciitis until I got these and now (knock on wood!) PF is finally in my past after YEARS of trouble. I got them for my mom for Christmas since  she also has trouble with PF and she told me that I could continue to get her those for all of her future gift giving occasions and she’d be perfectly happy. She’s in love too! I always bring these with me to wear after races and wear them on the weekend after long runs if I’m not wearing a pair of sneakers. They’re life savers! If Darrell and I go through with our cruise-post-marathon plan, I’ll definitely be wearing these on the ship every day.

 

Have I mentioned that plan? My lovely husband has suggested that he comes with me for marathon weekend next January and that we go on a Disney cruise the Monday after the race. What?! In our previous discussions, we’d decided that I would go to the race alone because O would be in kindergarten and it wasn’t worth pulling him out of school for the travel time. Apparently my usually-very-frugal husband has done some thinking about things since those discussions and come up with a very good, very nerve wracking plan. You see, we haven’t been on a trip without Oliver. We had one weekend back when O was 14 months old where my mom came up for a night and we went to Kansas City to go to the Renaissance Fair. That’s it. This would be a real vacation without our kiddo (who was immediately miffed at the idea that we’d go do something fun without him), which makes me nervous and excited all at the same time. Recovering from a marathon on a cruise ship, with no parenting responsibilities sounds LOVELY and we already know how excellent the service is on the Disney cruise.We’d love to be able to indulge more in the adult only offerings than we have been able to before this! Still, could I relax enough from the mom guilt of being on Mickey’s boat without Oliver to enjoy myself? Regardless, this is definitely a good motivation to take the plunge to run a marathon!

image

Have you vacationed without your kids? Did you struggle with any mom/dad guilt?

Who would be your dream running sponsor?

 

12 responses to “TotR: Dream Running Sponsor

  1. ACK I love this post. I know mom guilt is there, but you have to indulge yourself sometimes too! That sounds like a PERFECT plan! (And PJ’s coffee is amazing!)

  2. LaChicaRuns says:

    Oh, yes, absolutely go without the kid. El husbando and I have had two such vacations in our 22 years of marriage and they were the BEST. We spent a week in my homeland of Puerto Rico and another week a few years later on a Carnival cruise. Did I already tell you to do it? Won’t regret it.

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I love Feetures too! I’ve never heard of those sandals. I had PF once 2 summers ago, but I’m always scared of getting it again. Great plan for the Disney marathon & cruise! I know it’s probably easier said than done, but you deserve to do something nice for yourself without feeling guilty!

  4. I love Feetures also! I used to blister all the time, and now that I’ve pretty much spent my life savings on running socks, my feet are much happier!

  5. I had purchased my first pair of feetures socks the other mth and I have really liked them. Definitely will be buying more.

  6. Jen says:

    Go get yourself another Sparkle Skirt! It’s been less than a year since I bought my first one…and now I have 8!

Leave a Reply

