A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

The Hardest Part about Running . . .

on March 15, 2016

Last week, we talked about all of the things that were great about running but this week, we’re looking at the down sides. It seems appropriate since I’m looking out the window at a gloomy day. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting our Tuesdays on the Run link up. Be sure to check out everyone else’s lists. I’m betting chafing is on lots of lists, don’t you think? 🙂

ToTR logo

  • Hands down, the first mile remains the hardest part about running. Every time I head out, those first few steps make me think “Why do I think I’m a runner?” Never trust the first mile.
I ended up okay with this race, but seriously thought I'd have to drop out at the beginning. Never trust the first mile!

I ended up okay with this race, but seriously thought I’d have to drop out at the beginning. Never trust the first mile!

  • Leaving a warm house in the winter (or an air conditioned house in the summer) to head out in miserable weather always makes me question my sanity, no matter how well prepared I know I am gear-wise.
  • Chafing. You’d think by now I’d have a fool proof Body Glide game plan but I can still be caught off guard by new places to chafe.
  • Icy patches – I love running in snow, but those sneaky patches of ice under the snow or black ice hiding in the darkness can make a pleasant run painful in an instant!
I always worry about running on roads like this when I have a race on the horizon. Injury is real!

I always worry about running on roads like this when I have a race on the horizon. Injury is real!

  • Bathroom emergencies. I actually have a friend who says she’s never run more than 3-4 miles because she’s afraid of being out that far/long without a bathroom catastrophe. 🙂 Gotta love post-baby bodies.
  • Inexplicable weight gain rather than weight loss when you’re running regularly – so annoying!

I will say that I am apparently very optimistic about running, because for every one of these my mind countered with a “but this really good thing about running” which totally defeats the purpose of a “hard things about running” kind of post. Really, that’s the point for me though. Right now, the good outweighs all of these bad things and thus I’m looking forward to this weekend when I get to hit the road again. 🙂

What’s your least favorite thing about running?

6 responses to “The Hardest Part about Running . . .

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Leaving the house on a frigid, cold morning to run–so true! But I agree I can always counter the bad with the good. My least favorite thing is the negative thoughts I can have about myself if a run or race doesn’t go well. But in the flip side, I can be my own best cheerleader too.

  2. LaChicaRuns says:

    Cracking up at your reply because your list is so comprehensive! Ha. And yet us crazy runners still keep going out for more. Happy running

  3. mkadens1 says:

    Yes to all Especially that first mile. Seems like it’s always hard. Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

