A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Recovery week

on March 14, 2016

I normally think of recovery weeks in terms of races, I feel like I need to start thinking about it terms of recovering from lupus flares too. This one of those weeks, after flaring up in Memphis, but I’m happy with how I handled it overall. I was eating great, tracking my food and sleeping 8 hours every night. Thus, despite some residual ulcers in my mouth (yuck), I’m overall much much better. Yay for self-care! I even got some workouts in among all of that. πŸ™‚

Workouts

Monday 3 slow miles, but movement counts. My legs felt like lead weights and this was the slowest 3 miles I’ve done in ages!

Tuesday Rest day – just couldn’t make it happen

Wednesday Walking – I’ve realized that on weeks like this where I’m coming down from a trip, there’s no way I’ll have energy to run if I leave my workout to be done after work instead of before, but I can still go for a walk. Yay for 10,000 steps, no matter how they happen!

Thursday I got to bed a a reasonable hour, so I was able to get up at 5 to run my two tempo miles. I approached these just like I did in the fall, focusing on running consistent race intervals (2 minute/30 second in this case) rather than worrying about speed and ended up at a little over 12 minutes for the first mile and 11:40 for the second, so well within my planned race pace of 12:10/mile.

Friday Oliver was up in the middle of the night with a nightmare, so nobody in my house slept well. I definitely did not sleep well enough to get up early to run, but I ended up with a really lovely walk with Darrell as part of our date night. I loved that and confess that he may need to get ready to have that as a regular part of date night! It was just so nice to talk to him while we walked a couple of miles around the neighborhood. We talked about Once Upon a Time and what we thought of the most recent episode and super novas that might blow up the constellation Orion’s shoulder or obliterate all life on earth. You know, the usual.

Saturday The one problem with date night is that it occurred because Oliver went to parents night out at the gym and got home at 10 pm totally revved up from playing. We all slept a little late to make up for that.Β  I love unscheduled weekends because there isn’t nearly as much mental stress on my part for finding a time to work out! I got in a 3.3 mile run, plus some quality time cleaning up my flower beds. If spring is coming early, I need to get to work!

Garden clean up

Sunday I had a great 9 mile run, with my last mile just below 11:30 pace. It was overcast and in the 50s – perfect running weather! My favorite activity of the day, however, was running alongside this cool dude on his bike before dinner.
Best ten minutes of exercise all day

All in all, a good week. 18.3 miles, with a strong long run AND I finally got around to actually registering for the Papillion Half Marathon in May. Now I can’t let myself off the hook. πŸ™‚

I’m on call this week and have 3 different 7 am meetings – ugh. I always plan on call weeks as “do what you can” weeks in terms of workouts, so I’m not committed to any runs although I’m hoping to at least get out some this weekend. My fitness goals for the week instead are to a) do strength training at least 3 times – that is doable on call and b) get 10,000 steps and 10 flights of stairs every day. Those goals should keep me moving so I can pick training right back up next week! It’s funny – even without a big goal for this spring’s half marathon, just knowing I’m going to run a race gets me out to run every week and that’s totally worth the registration fee.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up! How do you stay active when life is too busy for your usual workouts?

weekly wrap up

 

12 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Recovery week

  1. It’s surely a struggle fitting it all in, isn’t it!!

  2. A good week! And glad you are feeling better too! O’s helmet is just too stinking cute!

  3. Anna says:

    Good for you getting out there and walking when the run wasn’t going to happen. Love, love a date night walk. I had to laugh my husband would totally be talking about super novas and Orion too πŸ™‚

  4. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Love this! >> “We talked about Once Upon a Time and what we thought of the most recent episode and super novas that might blow up the constellation Orion’s shoulder or obliterate all life on earth. You know, the usual.” A big YES for recovery. I’m learning more and more how important rest and recovery are, and it’s even more so when you are dealing with a condition like lupus! I think your plan for the week is wise. Oh, and I also finally registered for my goal race, but for me it was because I knew if I didn’t I’d try to talk myself out of doing it!

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    I love that Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle bike helmet! I’m sorry you’ve had to deal with a Lupus flare. I didn’t realize mouth ulcers was a symptom. I get those occasionally and just those alone will make you feel horrible. I’m amazed you still got in that much training. And YAY for a half marathon! My husband loves to talk about random scientific stuff. I just listen! LOL. Thanks for linking with us Jessica.

  6. Ha you kiddos helmet is just too cute! Don’t stress to much this week, I love that you adopt the do what you can when you can motto! Something is better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

