A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: What a difference a week makes!

on February 22, 2016
What a difference a week makes! I’m grateful that the weather improved enough that I was able to get out and run enough to build up some mojo FINALLY.
weekly wrap up
Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our wrap up!

Workouts

 

Monday 3.15 slippery miles Monday morning to get moving again after last week’s sluggish, lupus-y weekend. Morning miles are crucial for me – if I wait until late in the day, it’s far too easy to skip my workouts. I’ve got to get back in the habit of waking up early.
Slippery mornings

Tuesday Rest day, unintentionally because I skipped the morning wake up and shocker: couldn’t make myself run in the afternoon!

Wednesday 2.04 slow miles in the morning but at least I got out there (a rarity since I have to work early on Wednesdays!)

Thursday Darrell went to the gym Thursday morning, so no early AM run (but Yay for Darrell!). I intended to leave work early to get my interval workout in, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I decided to do a hill workout (because hills are just speed work in disguise right?) out in the neighborhood that night. My NSV this week is definitely hauling myself out of the house at 8:15 Thursday night to get that workout in! I can do hill workouts in my neighborhood, but really can’t stick with a consistent effort for speed work without a treadmill, so hills it was since I wasn’t going to the gym. I did 6 one minute hill intervals, with a total of 2.5 miles.

A quick word about moving around workouts: While this week is a lot better than any other training week I’ve had in 2016, it isn’t what the week looks like in my training plan. You can shuffle around training workouts to some extent, so long as you avoid doing two hard workouts back to back (like speed work or hills the day before a long run). I moved my easy runs around a lot this week, but got the miles all done, and borrowed next week’s hill workout to get a “quality” workout in without going to the gym. Just think about what your miles need to do for you and how to do them safely if you’re moving things around!

Friday 2.19 easy miles – One nice thing I noticed this week is that all my workouts were getting unintentionally faster as the week wore on. Turns out, the more I run, the easier it is to run!

Saturday 3.03 miles, easy pace in the afternoon to earn my beer at girls night out. We saw How to Be Single, which was a good girls’ night choice, but I needed the alcohol to get over the social anxiety hump. Bonus NSV: tracked all of the goodies that night!

Sunday I felt so accomplished when I finished my 6 mile run Sunday afternoon because a) it was my fastest run all week and b) it meant I’d finally had a week in 2016 where I got all of my training runs done! Winner winner! Sunday was also great because I helped a dad and his toddler son doing grocery shopping from Mommy’s list (quinoa is tricky!) – my most smile inducing good deed for the week – and had a great breakfast date with my handsome little man at a local restaurant. Homemade Nutella poptarts! Yum!!

Breakfast date

All in all, a much better week and I feel pretty good. I got in a total of 16.45 miles – much better than the last few weeks! While I did my plank a day, I didn’t do any other strength training but I’ll be better about that this week. I also hauled myself out of bed this morning to run by reminding myself how good it felt last week to get all of my workouts done. I love this slightly “used” feeling in my legs, which is weird I know.

Anybody else weirdly like that sore/tired feeling? So long as it isn’t too sore of course. πŸ™‚ I’m not a freak, I promise!

11 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: What a difference a week makes!

  1. Anna says:

    Some girls get the cutest dates πŸ™‚ Working around schedules is tough…and getting out of bed sometimes tougher…way to get it done.

  2. I love that sore feeling, I’m glad I’m not the only weirdo!

  3. Looks like a great week. And the sore/tired feeling? I’ve got it. Ugh.

  4. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Yay! Awesome that you’re back in the groove! And homemade Nutella pop tarts sound delicious!

  5. Ha I am almost to the point if I don’t feel sore the next day after my strength training with my trainer, I didn’t get my money’s worth, ya know! I like a little soreness but all this can’t walk for 2 days, nope I don’t like that! Not one bit! Thanks lady for linking up with us!

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    I’ve definitely got the tired sore feeling — from Physical Therapy! I’m so glad you had a nice week and were able to get all of your runs in. I can’t imagine doing hill repeats in the evening. You go! I’d never fall asleep. Your date is the cutest thing! And, a homemade Nutella poptart sounds very scrumptious. Thanks for linking with us Jessica.

Leave a Reply

