A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

TotR: Race Shirts

on February 16, 2016

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is Race Shirts: our favorites and our least favorites.  Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting the link up!

ToTR logo

This is a particularly timely topic for me because I just got rid of some of my least favorite shirts. It feels sort of wrong, because I EARNED those shirts, but frankly I have a drawer full of race shirts I never wear. The shirts I gave away were mostly cotton t-shirts. Very few of them are cute enough that I’m going to wear them in my day to day life, because I can’t wear something that casual to work and I’m actually sort of working on upping my weekend clothing game from it’s current lazy mom look. Right now, those shirts are just taking up space and someone else might enjoy them.

Much more fun to consider are my favorite shirts.

  •  I have one cotton race shirt that I really like: the Jingle Jungle 5K shirt. It’s cute, cheerful and Christmas-y enough that I wore it while we were on vacation last November. I could see wearing it again if I was somewhere warm enough for a cotton t-shirt during the holiday season, so I’ll keep this one. Even if I don’t wear it much, it always makes me smile.
Bonus: Super cute shirt that I got to wear to the Mickey's Very Merry Christmas party later in the week!

Super cute shirt that I got to wear to the Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas party later in the week after the race!

  • I wear my super cool Star Wars shirts a lot on the weekend. They’re tech shirts, so I could wear them to run (and the storm trooper one is in the workout pile – that blue isn’t quite my color), but I actually tend to wear them when I’m feeling my geek pride on the weekends. Also, they’re cut really nicely so they’re comfy and fairly flattering.
The Yoda shirt is my favorite.

The Yoda shirt is my favorite.

  • I also really like the colors of the Wine & Dine shirt (hmmm – my favorites are most my Disney shirts, surprise surprise!) and the fact that the design is subtle enough you don’t immediately notice that it’s a running or Disney shirt.
  • The Des Moines half marathon gives us a long sleeved tech shirt with a half zip neck that fits really well, so I’ve gotten a lot of use out of that one too.
  • I have a soft spot for my very first race shirt, from the Commitment Day 5K. As a bonus, it is super soft so I wear to sleep sometimes or for non-running workouts.

In addition to my general dislike of plain cotton race shirts because I don’t get much use out of them, I also have a weird tank top that I got at a local 5K that I just can’t love. At first I liked the idea of a tank top as opposed to a tee because I could get some use out of that for shorter summer runs. However, this one is cut away so much that a lot of my sturdy (by necessity!) sports bra gets exposed and that just isn’t a good look for me.

image

I confess that I always remember races more fondly if I liked their shirt options. Do you choose races based on the shirt choices?

 

14 responses to “TotR: Race Shirts

  1. mkadens1 says:

    Love the Star Wars shirts! I order larger sizes of cotton 5k shorts then wear them as pjs or when I work in the garden. I need to follow your lead and get rid of a bunch of duds already.

  2. I wear all my races shirts still. I have been wanting to get a blanket done with them all. But until I accumulate more I don’t want to cut the other ones up.

  3. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Aw, how can you not love a shirt with Mickey and Minnie on it? Disney seems to have really nice running swag overall…one day I’ll have to try one of their races!

  4. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    I have never chosen a race because of a t shirt. Some races here don’t give them away anymore. I am coveting the Paris marathon race tshirt though… will be my first marathon. I get jealous when I see people running by with one ! LOL

  5. Meg B says:

    I don’t wear many race shirts, I have a weird enough shape that the women’s fit is too clingy and the men’s too lose. I have a couple of long-sleeved ones from our local Turkey Troy I like, but that’s it. I am a big fan of the Hoo-rags, thick headband/bandanas, I got from the Women Run the D half marathon both years. They are great for cold runs and cooler, spring runs to just keep my hair off my face. I have super sensitive ears so wind, even summer wind, makes them ache and the hoo-rag is thin enough it doesn’t make me melt wearing it.
    Love your shirt collection.

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    I am coveting your Yoda shirt! In most of the local races that I run, you have no clue what the shirt is going to look like. My kids have received a lot of my ill-fitting or ugly shirts. Just passing the love around. The better ones I wear to bed. I had a quilt made out of 64 T-shirts that were not my favorites. It’s a good way to get rid of them, but at the same time keep the memory.

  7. LaChicaRuns says:

    I don’t choose races based on the shirt, but I am coveting your Star Wars shirts and I must have them! 😉 My favorite race shirt is the ugliest shirt I own, by far. It’s highlighter-yellow and has a running turkey on the front. Ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

