A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Officially tired of Winter!!

on February 8, 2016

In a lot of ways this winter hasn’t been bad but boy am I tired of it this week! This training week looked nothing like I wanted it to thanks to the snow and neighbors who never got around to shoveling their drive ways. We got 6+ inches on Monday night into Tuesday, with enough wind that it was plastered against the house and that snow has stuck around all week in our neighborhood, unfortunately.
A white cocoon!

Thankfully, I got out for a run Monday morning before the snow started. Coupling that with 3 miles on the treadmill Saturday and 7 miles outside today and I got 12 miles for the week – short of the 17 I’d planned this week, but at least I got in 3 runs and a long run. I was glad to get out to run on the road yesterday, even if I did seriously underdress and end up freezing. It snowed on me the whole run and I had to do lots of slowing down to dodge slush and ice, but at least I wasn’t on the treadmill. I’m grateful I was able to run outside and get my long run in no matter how slow and stiff it was (always am the first long runs of winter!). I suspect there will be a lot more treadmill miles this week thanks to ice.
Colder than I expected but at least I got to run outside for 7 miles

Other workouts this week including hauling Oliver on his sled in the snow Tuesday (tough!) and lots of shoveling, including helping my neighbor clear her driveway – definitely my good deed this week. I don’t mind shoveling snow for the most part. It’s nice to see the results of your work so clearly. πŸ™‚

I walked on days I couldn’t run. The sidewalks at work were clearer than my neighborhood so I made sure to head out while I could to at least get in some activity. I also got in my strength training for the week, with two sessions of total body work and a plank every day.
Birthday time

Darrell’s birthday was this week, which meant another of my go to chocolate cakes. I don’t think the requested Thor hammer (with curly candles O picked) was quite as successful as my Captain America shield was, but it was definitely tasty. My NSV is having a piece rather than restricting myself, but having only one piece no matter how much the stress of the Super Bowl yesterday may have tempted me. πŸ™‚ I really wanted Peyton to end his career on a good note and I’m a jinx, so I was sure my rooting for them would mean disaster.

I feel like I’ve had lots of days where I wasn’t really tracking or was going over my points in the last couple of weeks. This week, my only food and activity goal is to get back on track with tracking and owning my choices. Hopefully, with fewer meetings before and after work and no snow in the forecast, I’ll be able to be a little more true to my training schedule as well. Fingers crossed! I already know today will be tricky since I have a 7 am meeting and meetings until 5:30 pm. I’m finding it a lot harder to get in the rhythm of training this winter for some reason. Thank goodness I don’t have a big time goal for my spring race!

weekly wrap up

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our weekly wrap up! Be sure to check out what everyone has been up to!

How do you deal with the snow and winter weather? Do you think my neighbors who still haven’t shoveled 4-5 days after the snow would be offended if I went to do it for them so I could run? They may be sick or busy or out of town after all and a little help is always nice, right?

15 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Officially tired of Winter!!

  1. We haven’t had a bad winter at all, but I’m ready for warmer temps. Actually, I’m always ready for warmer temps…

  2. Anna says:

    By February I am always ready for spring πŸ™‚ Great job on getting it done despite the snow and having “a” piece of cake. Teams I want to win rarely do, so I was nervous last night too…but whew!

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I think all of the snow you got last week is headed our way tonight. I think I’m going to be wishing for a treadmill. Not having anywhere to run outside when it snows is absolutely the worst! I bet your neighbors would be grateful if you shoveled for them–at least, they should be! Because I’m always the first one up and out on my street, I usually shovel a single path right down the whole sidewalk and then completely clear my own sidewalk. Then, as my neighbors get out, they either clear the rest of their sidewalk, or sometimes not. But at least this way there’s a clear path.

  4. christyruns says:

    I don’t think your neighbors would be offended at all πŸ™‚ I am also feeling so over winter! Luckily we have a break in the weather and hit 60 degrees yesterday and its supposed to be nice all week. YAY!

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    We rarely have to deal with snow. And we wouldn’t shovel at all because it would melt within 24 hours and the whole city be shut down anyway. But, we did have our coldest night last night. It was 27 with a feel like temp of 19. And tomorrow morning, I will be running in it. Three runs including a long run is really all you need. Fantastic job in getting that in. I love that O wanted curly candles on the Thor cake! Great juxtaposition! Thanks for linking with us Jessica.

  6. Yes I’m ready for warm sunny days and spring flowers. We don’t have to go to much longer before spring, the worst should be behind us.

  7. Whoa when I first saw that window, I thought it was that deep! I’m glad it was just the wind that blew it on there! Thankfully we don’t have to deal with the shoveling but I am ready for it to warm up. Thanks for linking up with us!!

Leave a Reply

