A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

TotR: Spring Race Plans

on February 2, 2016

Today I’m wrapped up in a snowy cocoon here in Omaha. We’ve been getting snow for hours and it should keep falling until about midnight. The wind is plastering it up against the windows!
A white cocoon!

Many people in town are without power. Thankfully, we have power so we’re warm and safe. I definitely won’t be running today though. Instead, we’ll daydream about spring races. 🙂 Thanks to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting our Tuesdays on the Run link up as always!

ToTR logo

I have few races planned this spring, but you never know when that will change.

  • The biggest race I’m planning is the Papillion Half Marathon. I ran this last year, Garmin-less and loved the low stress, small town feel of the race. It’s the third weekend in May and hilly, so it could be toasty and tough, but my only goal is to have fun and beat last year’s time. I’m glad I have this on the schedule or I’d never drag myself out in the snow to run this winter!
Isn't it a cute medal? Definitely one of my favorites!

Isn’t it a cute medal? Definitely one of my favorites!

  • We’ll continue our tradition of running the Boys Town Memorial Weekend races, with Oliver running the 400 meter kids race and me in the 5 mile. It’s such a great family event!
The best motivation ever to keep me and him healthy for years to come!

The best motivation ever to keep me and him healthy for years to come!

  • I’ve got a 5K on the schedule in April and might actually go out on Valentine’s Day weekend to run a little local 10K. It’s in a park I’ve never run before and races are a great way to check out a new place to run. It’s actually trail, not paved, so this will be all for the experience not for time! I’ll let you know how it goes if I decide to do it. There’s also the Diva Dash in March that I’ve run a few times, which is hilly but fun because of all of the girl power (and the cupcake shop at the finish!).

That’s it! A much shorter list than last year since I’m not pursuing that 100 miles of races goal, but you never know what little local races I’ll pick up along the way. I’m a little sad I’ll be missing the Leprechaun Chase this year, since I really enjoyed the variety of terrain in that course last year (not the mention the whole girls vs guys competition component). I’m actually traveling to Memphis that week for work and will be visiting Darrell’s family across the river in Arkansas while I’m there. I confess it is tempting to run the Little Rock Half Marathon while I’m in the area that weekend because I’ve heard such good things. It still amazes me that I’ve turned into someone who could run a half marathon on a whim! I’ll resist the urge because that definitely wouldn’t be pretty  and I don’t want to risk injury if I’m taking the plunge for a marathon soon.

What are you spring race plans?

8 responses to “TotR: Spring Race Plans

  1. I’ve got the Crescent City Classic 10K at the end of March, and the Girls on the Run 5K in May. I need to look around and see if there are any other races I want to run!

    Much as you’re surprised that you’ve turned into someone who could run a half on a whim, I’m surprised that I actually have spring race plans! What would our former selves think of us?!

  2. I’ve got the Sarasota half marathon and the Big Sur Marathon. After that, we’ll see. I’m eyeballing some midwest halfs for the rest of the year.

  3. Meg B says:

    I am running a half at the end of March, another half at the end of April, and hopefully the inaugural Right to Run 19K in Seneca Falls, NY. Whew. I like spring races, too, because it does get me out running when I would rather be snuggled under blankets.
    Glad you have power and are nice and safe!

  4. mkadens1 says:

    Eeek! Glad you have power in that blizzard. All the best with your spring race plans. I’ve taken time off from racing to focus on weightloss and tri training. Hopefully I’ll add something soon. Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

