A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Crazy busy week!

on February 1, 2016

What a week last week! You’ll notice I sort of dropped of the face of the earth here. Things got crazy busy. As a result of that, you know how many runs I did last week? Zero. Yep – big fat goose egg. This is why I build in these on-call weeks at work as “light” weeks in my training plans because there’s no guarantee I’ll get to run at all. Of course, this week may not be much better based on the current weather forecast:

Untitled

I like that since the wind will only gust up to 40-50 mph, we aren’t officially in blizzard territory. Regardless of what they call it, this weather looks like I’ll be stuck on the treadmill for the rest of the week after we dig ourselves out of the snow because of the wind if nothing else. Thank goodness I woke up early this morning to get at least one run in outside this week, even it was an icy run!

Untitled

Despite these giant slick spots I had to avoid, I enjoyed the stars and the clear sky. It really can be beautiful to run in the morning in the winter, if you can successfully dodge the ice.

Even with the lack of runs, I didn’t have a bad week fitness-wise. I was so busy I got 10,000 steps a day 4 of the 7 days, including some dedicated walking-to-get-my-steps in time instead of just work time on those days. My goal was to get 10,000 all 7 days, but this at least was a good start and having that 10K a day goal got me up and walking several evenings before bed. All those nights I got up to walk even though I just wanted to crash in PJs definitely count as a NSV this week! I also did my daily planks every day but one and got in two strength training sessions. All good things!

I was also good about food choices and tracking every day, with my only fatigue-induced overindulgence being lunch Sunday, in which I ate entirely too much PF Chang’s. Still, it was steamed ginger chicken with broccoli and brown rice, not the Great Wall of Chocolate Cake (or whatever that behemoth is called!). Not a bad choice all in all.

I definitely noticed my lupus symptoms flare up a bit again, just like last time I was on call, but that highlighted to me how well controlled my symptoms are on a normal basis now. Things have definitely improved since this summer thanks to my medication. I just need to work on stress control a bit when I’m on call, especially since my usual stress reliever, running, isn’t in the cards most of those days.

My goal this week is to get my runs in on the treadmill if I have to, but to get back on the wagon after last week. I’ve got a 3 mile run on the schedule for tomorrow, which I seriously doubt I’ll do because the snow will have closed the gym, but if I can’t do it Tuesday I’ll do it Wednesday. My other goal is to get through the next 36 hours without a binge or bad food choices. This post-call stress relief period is a high risk one for me in terms of food and alcohol, especially since I’ll be snowed in with a 4 year old! I love that kid, but not being able to get out of the house will make us both stir crazy.

I’m so grateful I have Darrell to keep the ship running right when I’m on call like this. It’s funny because when I travel for work, my guys only aim to keep the house upright and everyone in one piece. Weeks like this, where I’m super busy but still coming at night (even if it is late), Darrell goes overboard to do the dishes and the laundry so I don’t see it when I come home and feel like I have to do that too when I’m exhausted from other work. I’m a lucky lady. They even got me flowers because they knew it had been a bad week. šŸ™‚
I have the sweetest boys.

My good deed this week involved helping a mom and kiddo navigate the hospital bathroom with all of their medical paraphernalia, even though I wasn’t remotely part of their medical team. We figured it out. Sometimes you just need an extra set of hands and mine happened to be walking by. šŸ™‚ My students were very impressed with my good-Samaritan-ness after that.

While we won’t getting as much snow as the northeast got pounded with earlier this month, those heavy winds are going to make things dicey even after the snow stops. Driving in blowing snow is no fun! I promise I’ll be careful.

What’s your favorite soup for snowy days? We’ll be making homemade chili, at Oliver’s request and introducing him to the wonder that is Frito Pie.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Crazy busy week!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wow–that is some forecast! Good that you have a plan to deal with it. And awesome job last week getting in so much activity in your busy schedule!

  2. Anna says:

    So thoughtful to go overboard like that so you can relax when you get home…what a sweet husband.

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    Those are beautiful flowers! How sweet! I was very busy with work last week and then sat in class for two days. I don’t think I even went outside during daylight hours. It left me feeling pretty crummy. It’s wonderful you still focused on your step count, planking, strength training, and food choices. You had a great week! Thanks for linking with us Jessica!

  4. Jessica I think you had a great week, sometimes it’s hard for me to get in my 10,000 steps too. I have been known to walk around my living room into my kitchen for 30 mins straight, that is as long as my family are not in the LR watching TV then it’s kind of annoying to them. Go figure? I need to start back a plank a day too, Chili sounds amazing! I apparently make mine too hot for my husband so he’s banned me from making any and that seems to be all I want! Thanks for linking up with us!

  5. Great job getting your steps in, 4 out of 7 days is a good start. I need to get back to doing a plank a day. I did the 30 day challenge and I was really starting to see some improvement. That was so sweet of your husband to have everything in order before you got home. Nice flowers too!

Leave a Reply

