A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Lots of treadmill time!

on January 25, 2016

While we’ve gotten nowhere near the amount of snow our friends in the Northeast have received, the snow and slick surfaces kept me on the treadmill for half of this week’s miles. Thank goodness for technology so I have some television on my tablet to keep me company! This week, I’m grateful for the technology that allows me to run and stay sane during the winter weather. ๐Ÿ™‚

weekly wrap up

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our wrap of the week!

I did fairly well this week in terms of meeting my food & activity goals. I got in 14 miles out of a planned 17 miles, with only one missed workout, which is not bad for the early base building stages of training. I kept up my strength training twice during the week and did my plank every day. It’s amazing how much easier the planks without really thinking about it, just from doing it for a bit every day! I was also good about using the foam roller this week. I got my water intake back up, so I think re-focusing on that goal rather than adding something new was a good call.

Workouts

Monday & Tuesday: Slow, easy miles with lots of walk intervals on the treadmill (2 miles in 27:02, 3 miles 43:08). I intentionally took them slowly because they were my 5th and 6th days running in a row and I didn’t want to push it since I was definitely out of practice with running that often.

Wednesday: Rest!

Thursday: Cross training, so I walked and did my strength training.

Friday: 2 miles on the treadmill, with longing for a break in the weather so I can get on the actual road!

Saturday & Sunday: I was supposed to run both days and was looking forward to running outside but thanks to a horrible night of sleep, I was just not feeling a run Saturday. I actually took a nap and that’s really out of character for me. So Saturday was a wash otherย than some strength training and my planks, but Sunday I actually was able to get on the road. They weren’t pretty miles by any stretch of the imagination – all of the pausing and short steps to avoidย icy patches made them slow and stiff-feeling – but they got done. ย I do really appreciate all of the neighbors who thoroughly shovel their sidewalks and driveways!

Snowy run

My NSV this week is that I’ve worn pants twice this week. That might not seem like an accomplishment, unless you’re aware that I’ve worn dresses or tunics and leggings pretty much every day for a month. Yes, I find dresses and tunics/leggings comfortable, but more importantly, they don’t have a waistband that won’t close comfortably or that binds. I decided to put on my brave face and actually try on some slacks I’ve been avoiding and low and behold, they do fit. Are they more snug than they used to be when I first put them on? Yes, but they fit and pants when it is below freezing are a very nice thing.

My good deed this week was picking up garbage at the gym. We have wipes for the equipment, so you can degerm it, and people kept tossing the used wipes at the garbage can but never following through when they missed! By the end of a 30 minute run on Monday, there were 4 different wipes down there. So rude! Pick up after yourself! I cleaned up the area before I left but I seriously wanted to call everyone of those other gym goer’s mothers – even if they were grown ups.

I’m on call this week, so I’ve got my training plan set for a light load as I can’t predict my work schedule at all. My goals for this week are to balance that: A) 10,000 steps a day – either I’ll be so busy with work I’ll hit that or I’ll have time to work out, right? B) Track my food every day! Even if I’m busy, I can take a few seconds to track and stay honest with myself about any treats I pick on while I’m on the go.

Super dude!

Have a SUPER week ๐Ÿ™‚

13 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Lots of treadmill time!

  1. Great week, and love your good deed for the week!!

  2. Looks like you had a great week! I run in the streets mostly this time of year, thanks to the snow packed sidewalks!

  3. All that snow is so pretty!! We just have cold weather and no snow. That’s impressive that you ran in it!

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    You had a great week, despite the weather! I’m impressed with your daily planking. I should get back into that. I prefer it over strength training. Congratulations on fitting into your pants. It’s a great feeling to be able to get into a piece of clothing when you thought you could not. What an adorable Superman! Thanks for linking with us Jessica. I hope you have a nice week.

  5. I’m so glad to hear those planks are getting easier for you! I wish I could say the same but it actually means I don’t do them as often as I should. Only when my trainer makes me. I avoid pants, like real pants a lot. I mean leggings are so much more comfy and you can wear them with your boots and throw on a cardy and super cute for work ๐Ÿ˜‰ I had to pick up after someone at my gym and my thoughts exactly, how rude people! Thanks for linking up. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. The image of people working out at the gym but being unwilling to take a few steps to pick up their wipe that didn’t make the trash is pretty funny. There were several days last when when I wished I had a treadmill! I got my book in the mail yesterday. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

