A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Resisting temptation

on January 20, 2016

Yesterday, I had a mandatory 3 hour training session and because they expected people to be grouchy about devoting so much time to mandatory training that could have been delivered online or in half the time, we were highly bribed. There was a whole table snacks and chocolate candy on every table. I was one of those grouchy people attending only because I was required to and irked that content that could be delivered in an hour was instead trickled out over 3 hours. I was also not in the best mood because it was a slick, snowy day, with roads bad enough that it had taken me an hour and 45 minutes to drive the 12 miles to work in the morning and I was already dreading the evening drive home. *I promise I took none of my bad mood out on the instructors or my classmates since we were all just doing our jobs!

Chocolate temptation at a meeting

So, how do we resist temptation when confronted with a “not worth it” treat and our mood puts us at higher risk? It can be especially hard at work or in required social interactions, where you can’t just walk away from the situation.

– Even if you can’t walk away, you can probably move the temptation out of reach or get it out of sight. I couldn’t put it under the table because I did have table mates, but I did shove it over to the other side of the table so it was a little more out of my reach. I also put my water bottle between me and it to block my line of sight. You could even cover it with paper or your bag. Make it harder to see it and reach it.

Reach out for help! I snapped the pic of the chocolate and sent it to my Lovely Ladies Facebook group to ask for strategies and distraction. We joke about a virtual “hand” to smack the not-worth-it food away if necessary. πŸ™‚ If you have an online support group in your healthy eating endeavors (which I highly recommend!) situations like this are a good time to use them.

Distract your brain. Those jokes about the hand and about the class really helped get my mind off the fact that I could see candy and was calculating how many points any piece would cost me. If whatever you’re attending isn’t that interesting (and mine wasn’t), find something else to distract your brain. I started writing this post, mentally reaching out to all of you to think of ways to resist temptation. Getting my mind on my little invisible army always helps. I’m also a list maker. In this case, I started a list of local races I might want to run this spring.

Distract your mouth and your hands. Sometimes getting my mind on something else isn’t enough. My mind is strong but not always strong in the face of Fun Size M&M’s. I decided to treat myself to a Diet Dr. Pepper to get some of that sweet taste I wanted. When my seat mate opened a package of those M&M’s and I could smell the chocolate, I got up to grab some healthy snacks from the snack table. Turns out, the taste of broccoli in my mouth counteracts a lot of the appeal of the smell of chocolate. Gum or mints can also help.

Healthy distraction

Speaking of distracting my hands, they did give us pipe cleaners to play with if we were fidgety. πŸ™‚ I made and unmade this lovely flower countless times but it helped keep me distracted!
Fidgets :)

All of these tricks of course assume that the temptation isn’t worth it. If it is a worthy treat, I’d find a way to make room for it in my day. If your work meetings have worthy treats, I’m officially jealous.

What are your favorite strategies for resisting those junk treats at work?

8 responses to “Resisting temptation

  1. Meg B says:

    I love the idea of pipe cleaners for fidgety fingers so smart. Good job resisting tempatation you didn’t really want to indulge in. Go you!
    Hope your commute home was better!

  2. Anna says:

    I never thought of pipe cleaners. Maybe I need some of them for home while watching tv. Great job getting through a boring meeting without a boatload of regrettable calories πŸ™‚

  3. Great tips! I like the pipe cleaners. Gum is a good distraction for me, as is drinking hot tea or coffee.

  4. Agh! I feel your pain. My problem is I’m going really well and then someone brings cake/chocolate/dip/cheese into the office and I have to say no. I often find myself then analysing whether I’ve been good enough already that day to justify saying no (i.e. if I’ve already eaten something not so good int he morning and someone has seen me, then I feel like I’m being even ruder now saying I can’t eat whatever it is they are offering.
    Why is it so hard to get over playing the polite card all the time?

Leave a Reply

