A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Heading into a frigid weekend!

on January 15, 2016

It is projected to be below 0 all day on Sunday. Sometimes I still can’t fathom I’ve moved somewhere this cold. Needless to say, this weekend’s running will take place at the gym on the treadmill. There are limits to even my ability to bundle up in the cold!

These wintery landscapes are more fun to look at than run on!

These wintery landscapes are more fun to look at than run on!

Now that you’re all shivering at just the thought of how cold it is going to be Nebraska this weekend, on to some interesting things I’ve read in the last couple of weeks that you might be interested in:

As I’m looking at a year of training, it can be daunting to find ways to fit it all into my already busy life (especially if I take on the marathon – yikes!). The tips here in this Womens Running article on incorporating training into your life are good ones to consider if you have the same worries. I particularly try to remind myself that a) even in just 5 minutes, I can do stretching or strength training or something that will further my goals and b) it doesn’t have to always be PERFECT. Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good!

One of those five minute workouts can be with the new TRX-like suspension system I got for Christmas (I forget the brand name, but it is the one on Amazon that is WAY cheaper than TRX). This is quick and easy to set up at home and allows me to do some types of body weight exercises that can otherwise be difficult to do effectively without a gym. This article with 8 TRX Moves that Increase Strength includes lots of core and leg work that will be a big benefit to my running, although I’ll definitely want Darrell as a spotter for some of these! I already tried a few this week and he had a good time laughing at me trying to get into position, but practice makes perfect, right? I will also say that these moves have been great for my core strength, even the ones that seem more arm or lower body focused, because of how you have to hold yourself in position. I love a workout that gets me lots of bang for my buck!

We’re a few weeks into the new year now and it can feel like the momentum from all of those do-the-great-things new year’s resolutions starts to fade right about now. I really like this post from Swim Bike Mom that reminds us that it is really about one day at a time. All we can control is this moment, and doing the best we can in this moment. A series of small good moments will add up to those big changes we want, so don’t let yourself get overwhelmed.

Speaking resolutions, and to head into our weekend with a laugh, check out Christine’s list of New Year’s Resolutions that didn’t make the cut. I particularly like #1 (life is too short to go without dessert!) and #10. I confess I’ve NEVER cleaned the ceiling fans in my house. My dad, a.k.a. Commander Clean, would be horrified. I also confess that I’ve spent far too much time this week daydreaming about the dessert (and wine!) I’m going to have on date night tomorrow because I cannot waste the opportunity for scrumptiousness when we’re going to a nice, grown up restaurant.

With my super cold weekend coming, I’ll be testing out a new homemade bread recipe to go with of course, lots of soup. Soup on the stove and bread in the oven seems like just what we need when it is inhumanly cold outside! What’s your favorite soup for a cold day?

Have a great weekend!

 

 

5 responses to “Friday Favorites: Heading into a frigid weekend!

  1. I’m going to start running again, now that my PF has calmed the hell down. Of course, it’s going to be brutal on Sunday! So I’m going to run tomorrow. Can you say excited?

  2. Coco says:

    Mmh. Nothing beats tomato soup with a grilled cheese sandwich on a cold day!

Leave a Reply

