A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

2016 Running & Fitness Goals

on January 5, 2016
It’s the first week of the New Year, so naturally our Tuesdays on the Run topic is Running Goals for 2016. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting!
ToTR logo

I spent part of my afternoon last week working on entering my workouts for my two big training plans for the next year into my calendar, so it is probably a good time to let you guys know about my plans for 2016, isn’t it? Last year, I had goals based on lots of miles and a specific time PR. I hit that mileage goal (100 miles of races) and I got a nice new half marathon PR, but this year I’m looking at some different, less speedy goals.

Run the Papillion Half Marathon again & beat my previous time: For my spring race, I want to go back to Papillion because it was a nice all around race experience. It isn’t crowded and the people were nice, plus it is cheap and local – what’s not to love? Last year, I took it nice and easy on this course and actually didn’t even wear a Garmin! This year, I’m going to take it a little more seriously and try to beat last year’s time (shouldn’t be hard if I stay injury free – 2:41:57 last year) by running the course a little more aggressively. It’s in mid-May, which can be warm, so I’m not gunning for a PR overall, but I do like having a spring race to look forward to. I’ll use the Hanson-esque training plan again because I liked the challenge of running that often, although I may need to tweak it for some more hills given what I know about this course.

Isn't it a cute medal? Definitely one of my favorites!

Isn’t it a cute medal? Definitely one of my favorites!

Run the I-35 Challenge: The I-35 challenge involves running either the half or full at both the Kansas City race on Saturday and the Des Moines race on Sunday in October. You guys know how much I love the Des Moines race, so stepping up to the challenge this year seems like a fun next step in my adventures with that race (nope – not ready for the marathon!). I’ll be applying the lessons I learned from training for the Rebel Challenge to this one for sure. It’ll be fun! There’s a Jeff Galloway training plan that covers 10 weeks for this challenge, which is shorter than my usual half marathon training cycle so I’ll need to be sure I keep my fitness up over the summer after Papillion so I’m ready for this!

Train for a faster 10K: Will I actually run a faster 10K? Who knows, but I think I’ll spend my summer break training for a 10K. I’ve only done 10K training once and it was targeted at covering the distance, without any speed work. This might be a fun way to keep myself busy between my spring race and training for the I-35 challenge in the fall and if I find a race where I can actually set that PR, even better! The Lake Wehrspann 10K is usually sometime over the summer, so maybe I’ll do that one again – even if it did have that evil finishing hill.

Hike to the top of Pulpit Rock: I’m theoretically going to Norway this summer. If the trip comes through like I’m planning (fingers crossed!) I’m going to climb Pulpit Rock while I’m there (more about it here). It’s a steep cliff that you can hike to the top of – 1982 feet up! It’s a 2.4 mile hike, with lots of stairs and steep hiking. I’ll have to think about how to train for this so I don’t pass out on the way up! I’m thinking that my cross training on days I’m not running will need to incline walking or (ugh) the dreaded stepmill. I know this isn’t technically a running goal, but it’s definitely a big fitness feat!

– Speaking of fitness goals, one of my Christmas gifts was a TRX-like suspension system for home use. My goal is learn how to use these at home and regularly incorporate them into my workout routine without injuring myself.

Hopefully, I’ll get to cross another couple of states off of my list. I think I’ll fly out of Minneapolis for my trip to Norway, so I’ll be able to cross Minnesota off of the 50 states running list that way. There is a path up to Minneapolis that comes very near South Dakota, so I may even be able to make a small detour and cross two states off on the list.
What are your fitness goals for 2016?
20 responses to “2016 Running & Fitness Goals

  1. javaandsole says:

    Happy TOTR! I love goal setting – it gives me a direction πŸ™‚ I can’t run just to run, I have to be training for something! Love how detailed your goals are … something I am working towards! Happy 2016!

  2. Sounds like great goals! I like when people don’t have a bajillion goals because who can even remember all that?

    Very jealous of the TRX! I’ve always wanted to try it, but we really don’t have anywhere to attach it. But I did just get a stationary bike . . .

  3. Sounds like GREAT goals!!! My goals will be keeping my family sane this next year!

  4. Stacey says:

    My goal is to run my first half marathon!

  5. scheerio says:

    I love your blog! I’ve recently started to get back into running and you are so motivational. I also wanted to stop in and tell you I just nominated you for the Liebster Award πŸ™‚ https://extrapostageneeded.wordpress.com/2016/01/05/help-promote-new-blogs-the-liebster-award/

  6. mkadens1 says:

    Sounds like you’ve got some exciting things planned for the year! Thanks for linking up!

  7. All great things on your plate this year! I think I may do 10K training too. As for the hike, you may have to do less training than you think. When I was on vacation, my husband and I hiked three miles straight up to the top of a 10,000+ foot mountain. I was in my training cycle and running a lot and had no problems whatsoever. My husband, however, had a really hard time with both the hike and the elevation change and just couldn’t catch his breath. I think somehow all the running helped me with the high elevation because I wasn’t out of breath at all.

  8. […] than the running goals we talked about Tuesday and working on making peace with the fact that I still (and may always) […]

  9. Ooh, my parents lived in Papillion when I was in college – I got married there! I should visit the area and run the race. (And the Kansas/Iowa weekend sounds perfect – adding this to my list of races so I can knock out two races in the same weekend!

  10. […] my running goals this year, I’m registered for the Papillion Half Marathon and the back to back half marathons […]

  11. […] I met a few of my running and fitness goals for 2016, by running the I-35 challenge, hiking Pulpit Rock (definitely a highlight of my year!) and […]

Leave a Reply

