A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Fell off the wagon a bit

on December 21, 2015

I got lost in a hole of cookies and inactivity this weekend. It was ugly.

These were really yummy but I lost count of how many I ate over Friday and Saturday.

These were really yummy but I lost count of how many I ate over Friday and Saturday.

I don’t really know what triggered it. Family visit? Too many parties? Who knows. It was a weird, very unlike me episode in that it wasn’t a typical binge. I actually found myself thinking “Today is shot anyway. I can start over tomorrow. More cookies now!” in a conscious way. You guys know that I try to NEVER have that mindset. You can make a better choice any moment, any day – there’s no magic time to reset. However, I can say that the door is officially closed and I’m feeling better. I did a lot of meal prep Sunday:

Tuna salads for lunch!

Tuna salads for lunch!

And got some activity in Sunday, with strength training, a walk with Darrell & Oliver before dinner and a run through the Christmas lights after dinner. FYI – hibachi shrimp and scallops and veggies are not a good pre-run meal, in case you were wondering.

I'm going to hate how dreary running at night is next month, compared to all of this I get now!

I’m going to hate how dreary running at night is next month, compared to all of this I get now!

I also got in two strength sessions this week, walked instead of drove to a lunch meeting near my office and was active every day up until the cookie-apocalypse. Also, a big NSV is that even though I went overboard with cookies all day Saturday, my meal choices were actually pretty good. I didn’t let the fact that I was eating a thousand cookie calories lead me down the cheese stuffed breadstick path.

Immediately donated these to the candy drawer!

Immediately donated these to the candy drawer!

My good deed for the week was donating this big jar of candies (2 pounds of chocolate!) that I was given as thanks for a lecture I gave on bed bugs, lice and other creepy crawlies. Man did I itch while giving that talk! The power of suggestion is strong!

This week, I’m going to practice being kind to myself by a) forgiving myself for cookie-apocalypse and b) treating myself to an afternoon off and the new Star Wars movie. πŸ™‚ In all seriousness, that A goal is huge. In the past, I would let a derailment like that make me feel disgusted with myself for days to weeks. Not only is that NOT practicing self-kindness, it is also the kind of attitude that sets me up for further binges. I’m grateful that life offers an abundance of second chances to try again with these healthy lifestyle practices.

I’d actually been toying with the idea of trying out the new Weight Watchers program as they’ve made some tweaks. I decided to go ahead and take the plunge on Sunday, so I’ll keep you posted as to how that goes. Honestly, the structure of being back on a “plan” is a weird sort of a relief. I’m someone who runs more consistently when I’m on a training plan to race – who knows, I may be someone who needs to have an eating “plan” too. Certainly for binge recovery it seems to be helping.

I’ve got a plan to allow myself time to run this week and a plan for healthy snack options on the four day weekend (that much time at home around treats is always tricky!). I’ve got all of my Christmas gifts wrapped and lots of holiday activities planned with O, so I think it is going to be a fun week. I may actually take a couple of hours off every afternoon this week to give myself a little time to myself before I plunge into full time family time on Thursday through Sunday. I love my family, but it can definitely be a little stressful, even when it is just the three of us. Of course, since I just got an email from school that someone is out with confirmed norovirus from Oliver’s class – aka the highly contagious cruise ship stomach bug – it may be an even more stressful week than I imagined!

How do you recover when you have a bad weekend? Anybody else going to miss all of the lights when the holiday season is over? Winter running is going to get so dreary!

weekly wrap up

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our weekly wrap-up.

19 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Fell off the wagon a bit

  1. Anna says:

    So proud of you for putting Cookie Apocalypse behind you – both physically (meal prep/candy donation) and mentally (forgiving your self and Star Wars treat). Hope you have a wonderful Christmas (without any of the aforementioned bugs!)

  2. I do know what you mean about after the season, it’s like all this hustle and bustle over this and that then Christmas and New Year’s is over and it’s well Winter in January. At least I have until after my marathon to get back to a more regular routine. I guess I’d say to make you some goals, mini reachable goals to keep you motivated after the season. There will be many many challenges involving the health and fitness scenes so pick you something in focus on that. I so need to take my own advice! πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas to you!

  3. What’s that saying my WW leader used to say? Something like “It’s not about being perfect all the time. It’s about being good most of the time.” Things happen, and the best we can do is what you’re doing, to put it behind us and move on. I look forward to hearing what you think about the new program. Some people really dislike it, but I’m really liking it so far. I also fell off the wagon this week at a party. The hosts had made stuffing balls (big balls of stuffing) just for me. You know how that goes.

    • I can see where it’s a big shift if you included a lot of treats or less healthy options. Most of the things I eat regularly when I’m eating well are about the same points as I remember so it isn’t bad so far. My usual breakfast at a local diner went up 2 points but that’s it so far.

  4. Ugh, I definitely had the same kind of weekend. I try to kick off Monday with a big green juice, do a salad for lunch, and cook something light for dinner. My body is usually very thankful for treating it kindly again. πŸ™‚

  5. Did you read my post? And see all those cookies I baked? I may have eaten a few…that’s what the holidays are all about. That and running those calories off…

  6. Cookie apocalypse!! Haha, that’s hilarious! πŸ™‚ And I’m totally going to miss all the holiday lights! It’s my favorite time of year!! πŸ™‚

  7. Angela says:

    I look forward to hearing what you think of the new plan. I’m a former lifetime member who is considering going back in 2016 to lose baby (now toddler) weight and hopefully regain lifetime status. I always feel resistant when they change they program and it is especially intimidating since this feels like a big change.

  8. I like that you recognized that all your food choices weren’t bad, despite eating lots of cookies! I too am guilty of that πŸ™‚ My diet and workouts during the holidays look a little different than normal but something is better than nothing!

    • We definitely have to give ourselves credit for the things we do well and not going whole hog on booze and other foods was a real win this weekend. Really, it was just the cookies. πŸ™‚ Darn cookies!

  9. HoHo Runs says:

    My apocalypse usually occurs after the holidays are over. I do so good to stay on track and limit my sweets during the main events and then *BAM* all the leftover sweets are staring me in the face. It’s like “I made it — now give me some sweets!” I think the greatest thing you did is not let it spiral into something else. You absolutely conquered that! Every day is a new day. Heck, every minute is a new minute. Enjoy Christmas with your family. Thanks for linking, Jessica.

Leave a Reply

