A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Finally home for a spell!

on December 7, 2015

I looked at the calendar last week and realized I was home less than 2 weeks of November. That makes me doubly glad that I’m done traveling for 2015, even if I do have evening meetings 4 of 5 days this week! Thanks to sleeping with O a couple of times over Thanksgiving week while we were at my parents’ house, I have a doozy of a cold, which definitely limited my activity this week thanks to the coughing and nasal congestion but I’ve finally turned a corner and hope to get out to run again today!

I’m linking up with Holly and Tricia as usual. Thanks as always for hosting ladies!
weekly wrap up

Workouts

Monday 30 minutes snow shoveling – and Oliver was actually helpful when he said “Mommy I want to help!” Last winter, that meant using his snow shovel to dump snow back over what I’d already done. This time, he actually seemed to grasp what we doing! There’s nothing like a little 4 year old voice saying “This makes my back hurt Mama” – no kidding. 🙂 Try it with 30+ more years on those back muscles and joints and see what it feels like. Don’t worry – I made him stop as soon as he said that and he hasn’t mentioned it since, so no harm done!

It wasn't a lot of snow or super cold, so it was a good time for him to practice his shoveling. Definitely a Midwest survival skill!

It wasn’t a lot of snow or super cold, so it was a good time for him to practice his shoveling. Definitely a Midwest survival skill!

Tuesday 30 minutes walking

Wednesday I spent 7.5 hours in the Denver airport thanks to flight delays, so I got lots of walking in going up and down the B concourse. This week’s NSV is definitely taking the time to exercise while I was delayed instead of taking the time to mope and eat pastries.

Thursday I woke up for an early AM run so that I could check Oregon off of my 50 states list. I only ran for about 2.5 miles, but I enjoyed it. This cold has kept me from running much lately. 😦 I think the damp air helped keep from coughing too much!

I loved this sign!

I loved this sign!

Friday 30 minutes walking around downtown Portland between the end of my conference and lunch. I loved the decorations!

Aren't the little pointed booties darling? Love that even the statues get dressed up!

Aren’t the little pointed booties darling? Love that even the statues get dressed up!

Saturday 30 minutes walking, including 19 trips on the stairs (per FitBit) as I put away all of the gifts and boxes from tree decorating. I have cleaners who come every two weeks and we usually wait until they’re done with the last pre-Christmas cleaning visit before we put out the gifts so that it is easier for them to vacuum around the tree. We’ve already got a fair number of gifts because most of my family brought their gifts to Thanksgiving and they seriously spoil O. Any parents out there have tips on how to rein in extended family gift giving?

This is not our best tree, in terms of shape, but the lights still make the kid in smile every time I see them.

This is not our best tree, in terms of shape, but the lights still make the kid in me smile every time I see them.

Sunday I got in an ill-advised walk with Oliver Sunday night. 🙂 I needed plain Oreos for a work treat for Darrell’s job (this chocolate-peanut butter concoction) and only had mint ones at home. First world problems, right? I have a grocery store within walking distance, so asked O if he wanted to walk over with me. We grabbed the stroller and headed out. Since I was bringing O and the stroller, I went the longer way around to use the cross walk instead of jaywalking like I normally do (bad Jessica!) which meant the trip out took 30 minutes, including a little off road stroller-ing because I made a wrong turn and ran out of sidewalk too early. It was chilly and by the time we got there, my little guy had red cheeks, a red nose and freezing hands because we grabbed a jacket but no mittens and he has yet to figure out that POCKETS KEEP YOUR HANDS WARM. We had to call Darrell to come fetch us in the car for the return trip.

What’s missing from this list? Strength training. Oops! As one of my goals for the month, I need to get back on that before I look up and it is New Years. However, giving myself credit, I’ve done well with taking a little time to be nice to myself (harder than I expected!) and I tracked everything I ate in Portland. Turns out, you can totally do that and still enjoy the yummy local food! Who knew? 🙂

My good deed for the week was donating to a fundraiser for my sister’s school (public school teacher in Houston). This week’s good deed is going to be donating a bunch of toys that Oliver has outgrown to a local in home daycare. I’m grateful that I have a job that allows to me travel and to afford not to worry about gifts, food or shelter over the holidays. I know many people don’t have that luxury. Despite the delays, I’m also grateful for safe travels last week.

Several weeks ago I signed up for the Another Mother Runner Stride Through the Holidays Challenge and I confess, I never actually started the workout plan. I just lost track of it! Even though I’m off track with the rest of the group, I’m going to start the plan now just because I feel like I need some of schedule to keep me from losing track of exercise among all of the holiday rush. Do you need some kind of “training plan” to stay active through the holidays?

I hope everyone has a great week!

15 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Finally home for a spell!

  1. Tiina says:

    We do a big white elephant game with my extended family. Otehrwise it just got too big.

  2. Anna says:

    Glad you have a little time at home to catch your breath. Love how you get your workouts in even when traveling 🙂

  3. Glad you are back home and not traveling for awhile! I am also glad that you got to see some of the statues with the sweaters on them, they put them up the day you came in I think!

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    I’m glad you are back home. Kudos for airport walking. It is better than sitting and playing games on your phone (what I did for 90 minutes in the doctor’s office yesterday). I should have told the receptionist I was going for a walk and to text me when it was my turn! I wonder how well that would work? I admit, I’ve never shoveled snow…only skied and played in it. The pointy deer (?) booties are very clever. Congrats on a run in Oregon. How many states do you have now? Thanks for linking with us, Jessica. Enjoy your week.

  5. I’m struggling with the gift thing myself—I’ve tried making wish lists, emphasizing that we do not need everything on the list, but they wind up buying everything on the list anyway! I’ve also emphasized gifts of experiences… but we still wind up with a huge pile for the kids (we actually don’t even buy gifts for the kids, they get so much from the family!). I think our family just likes to buy gifts, so I’ve kind of resigned myself to letting them do what they want with their money… then returning/donating/selling items we don’t need. I also will put a bunch away to pull out at a later date, after they’ve gotten tired of their toys.

    • I’ve considered not buying for O since he gets so much from family but then can’t resist. Experiences are better, I agree. I’m thinking about doing family ice skating lessons this year.

  6. My family spoils us all with lots of gifts, ok some of them may not be very expensive but my mom wraps everything even socks and candy sometimes. I think she just loves wrapping presents. I guess I get this from her, I could work part time just wrapping presents, it makes me happy! I think we both have had our share of traveling this holiday season and look it;s not over yet. I do second being thankful for safe travels. Thanks for linking up with us and I hope you have a wonderful week! 🙂

  7. Okay, I’m a little jealous of your snow. We *still* haven’t gotten snow! I’m sure I’ll regret thinking that in the future when we have more snow than I want, but for now I’m missing the pretty white stuff! I’ve said this before, but traveling always derails me, and I’m always impressed that you continue to be active and track while you’re traveling.

  8. I always slack on strength training too. I did a plank challenge a while back. I need to at least get back in a routine of doing planks every day. Great job getting a run in while you were in Oregon! How many states does that make for you now?

Leave a Reply

