A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

December Goals

on December 3, 2015

Today is already a pretty good day. I made myself get out of bed to run, even though I really wanted to sleep, and Portland rewarded me with an easy run filled with Christmas lights. Thanks Oregon for making crossing you off my 50 states list so pretty. 🙂

I loved this sign!

I loved this sign!

Thank goodness today started on a good note because looking back at my November goals is a real downer. November was a month full of travel, so it is not surprising that I had a hard time meeting goals but given that I also struggled with my October goals, I think this is a good time to give myself a shake and finish strong. I do sometimes question the purpose of making goals if I never meet them. However, a) I don’t NEVER meet them – I do meet them more often than not and b) even if they don’t keep me on track on all month long in crazy months like this one, they’ve definitely re-centered me intermittently and any time I can make a better choice, that’s a win, right?

I’m essentially going to keep my November goals for December:

  • Walk after meals: Last month, I planned to walk after every meal and while that happened in Disney World, it didn’t really happen most of the rest of the time. This month, I’m going to narrow that down a bit to aim to walk after lunch every day at work. There’s no reason I can’t walk for 10 minutes after lunch each day and anything that gets me out of my desk chair is a good thing.
  • Keep on track with weighing in and tracking: I actually did reasonably well with this last month, weighing in every Wednesday and Saturday I was home, even in that ugly post-vacation week. I’m keeping that up this month and am even tracking while I’m here at this meeting in Portland, even though I normally give myself work trips “off” from tracking.
  • Improving self-care: Like I mentioned yesterday, I’m feeling myself slipping a bit with regards to stress management and binge flirtations. I’m going to do one little thing a day that’s kind to me and one big thing a week. This is already harder than I expected. Yesterday, I got stuck for 7.5 hours in the Denver airport. I had a yummy salad for lunch and then told myself my little gift to myself that day was going to be allowing myself 10 minutes to read Real Simple before I started work. My attention over and over kept wandering to work I should be doing rather than allowing myself that TEN minutes, which is bonkers. I clearly need to work on this.
I LOVE Real Simple and reading it used to be one of my favorite little moments to myself. How did I lose something so small?

I LOVE Real Simple and reading it used to be one of my favorite little moments to myself. How did I lose something so small?

I’m also going to keep up my daily Instagram #thankful photos (or at least quasi-daily – I’m never great at daily anything!) because I really appreciate the opportunity to reflect on the good things. I’m also going to make it a point to give out at least one compliment a day. Even little compliments make me feel better to give and always make me feel better to get, so why not share some positivity?

Do you feel like declaring goals is helpful? How do you keep yourself on track to meet those goals?

 

13 responses to “December Goals

  1. I’m so glad you got to see the White Stag sign all lit up! They were actually going to get rid of it a couple of years ago and there was a HUGE backlash, so the sign has stayed. You are lucky that you got to see it in Christmas mode when they light the nose up. 🙂

  2. Anna says:

    By biggest challenge with goal setting is not quitting once I have a slip. I love the aspect of self-care you are working on too.

  3. Tiina says:

    I hear you on the self care. I let it get really bad in November and it put me in a black and bad place. It’s so easy to get caught up in just taking care of everyone else.

  4. Jill Walker says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that has had issues in October and November….both months were really hard on me! The good thing is that we didn’t give up, and there’s a lot to be said for that. On the flip side…I’m really loving that instagram idea, and I may just steal it! 🙂 Enjoy Portland!

  5. Meg B says:

    I think self care is super important, it is so easy to let that slip. Go you. And enjoy your trip. Oregon is lovely!

  6. […] missing from this list? Strength training. Oops! As one of my goals for the month, I need to get back on that before I look up and it is New Years. However, giving myself credit, […]

  7. […] grown up who still looks forward to stockings, am I? My list this year, I think in keeping with my goal of taking time to treat myself this month, is definitely focused more on stealing moments for […]

  8. […] my goals for the month, I mentioned taking a little more time to myself because I’d noticed some red flags creeping […]

Leave a Reply

