A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Reminding myself of the important things about some bad choices . . .

on November 25, 2015

Remember how we talked about the struggles of Thanksgiving week beyond just the one day? I fell into a bit of that trap yesterday and had two cookies I didn’t need, as well pancakes and three pieces of pizza I didn’t need. Catastrophic? Of course not, but I feel Blech this morning anyway. So that I don’t let that feeling carry me into poor choices today and on into tomorrow, letting this bad momentum build, I’m going to remind myself this morning of my Make the next best choice mantra and focus on what’s coming today rather than what happened yesterday. I’m also going to remind myself this morning of all of my good, important things rather than dwelling on the negative:

  • This time last year, I was still recovering from being hospitalized for that weird lymph node thing. Now I know that was part of this whole lupus process and while having lupus sucks, I’m so grateful that my medication is working and I don’t have any complications of the disease so far. I’m happily sitting at the annoying end of the chronic disease spectrum and all in all, that makes me very lucky.
  • I have fantastic support from my husband, my son, you guys and my awesome Lovely Ladies Losing It crew to keep me motivated and healthy every day. I can’t tell you enough how much that means to me. You guys are all like having this invisible cheering squad in my head every day and you rock.
  • I get to be part of the most fantastic little family on the planet. Being Darrell’s wife (counting the hours until he gets here tonight!) and Oliver’s mother is such a privilege and I hope I never take that for granted.
Last night, I was out in the dark with a flashlight because he'd lost one of these little cars. Love him anyway :)

Last night, I was out in the dark with a flashlight because he’d lost one of these little cars. Love him anyway πŸ™‚

  • I have coffee.
Also, I have fabulously comfy pajamas and the ability to cross my legs. And a kid who is sleeping in :)

Also, I have fabulously comfy pajamas and the ability to cross my legs. And a kid who is sleeping in πŸ™‚

  • I have running shoes, so when the extended family time (and the politics – oy the politics) gets to be too much, I can escape.
  • The world is an increasingly scary place, but I have a degree of safety and security so many people don’t have and have never had. I hope I never lose sight of the privilege that is my life. I’ve done nothing to earn it, I know, but I’m grateful for that blessing.

Today, if you find yourself overwhelmed by the holiday preparations or last day of work chaos or travel or the misery of having to work when everyone else is getting ready for a little break, I hope you can find something good to reflect on and I hope that you know that you’re part of the good in my life.

Thanks to you all!

10 responses to “Reminding myself of the important things about some bad choices . . .

  1. I forgot that you have lupus! Your posts are always so positive and you keep pushing forward, no matter what! Nice work.

  2. Love it. Yep, sometimes you just gotta be thankful! And this is the best time of year for that!

  3. Great post πŸ™‚ I’m adding that mantra to the collection already running around in my head. I love your pj pants πŸ˜€

  4. Anna says:

    Love “make the next best choice” – thanks for sharing it πŸ™‚

  5. Glad that you are able to keep your Lupus at bay. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

Leave a Reply

