A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Back to the real world

on November 23, 2015

The first week at home post vacation is always painful, isn’t it? It was especially tough this week since I had only one week of “normal” before Oliver and I hit the road again. Yesterday he and I drove from Omaha down to my parents’ place in Fayetteville Arkansas. Let’s just say that the fact that I got through a seven hour drive alone with a four year old who is coming down with a nasty cold/fever bug and a big case of the whinies without eating all of the snacks in the car is definitely my NSV this week.

Chilly Arkansas morning!

Chilly Arkansas morning!

In O’s defense, my good deed this week is the fact that I’m raising a kid who does good deeds. He’s been on a big kick all week about opening doors for people. It’s very sweet. 🙂 He’s always so proud and tells me (and everyone else-this is never quiet) that he’s got manners.

Workouts:

Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday – 30 minute walks each day, plus some strength training and yoga on Tuesday. Every morning I set my alarm for 5:15 am to go run and every morning my body said a big fat “NOPE” and went back to sleep.

Thursday – I finally hauled myself out of bed for a thirty minute run! It was my first run in almost two weeks and it felt good to get back on the horse. It helps that our weather turned cold and I love running in the cold, freakishly enough.

Friday – 30 minutes of stretching, which felt so good!

Saturday – 3.2 miles running in the cold and the dark, enjoying the number of my neighbors who already have Christmas lights up (even though in theory I think we should give Thanksgiving it’s due and wait!)

Christmas lights always brighten up winter runs

Christmas lights always brighten up winter runs

Sunday – This was our travel day and it was exhausting even though I sat all day. Isn’t it weird how that works? After I got O to bed, I did some stretching and some breathing exercises which were sorely needed to settle down after a long day. I’m totally counting that effort in my current activity streak (70+ days now!) even though it wasn’t as physical want usual daily workout.

I’m grateful for safe travels today and wish the same to any and all of you traveling this week. Here’s hoping I can stick to my plan regarding my food and activity for the holiday week so I can stay in a healthy frame of mind. I know I feel happier and steadier when I’m taking care of myself and I have a feeling I’ll need that to get through another travel week so close to our last one.

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our weekly wrap up link up. I’m looking forward to checking out everyone else’s week.

weekly wrap up

What does your week look like? Travel? Days off work / school? How do you adjust for these chaotic holiday weeks?

16 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Back to the real world

  1. It has to be hard to stay healthy when you are traveling so much! Enjoy this week!

  2. Great week. I hope little man starts to feel better asap and glad you made it to Arkansas safely! Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  3. That’s a great NSV for the week, for sure! Enjoy the holidays!

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Seven hours is a long time in the car with or without a child. The older I get, the more my body aches from sitting. How precious that O is opening doors and telling everyone about his manners! We will travel to my in-laws, but it is only about a 2 hour drive thankfully. I hope to stay active this week but it will be really cold for early morning bike rides. If I could just run, it would be much warmer. I appreciate you linking with us Jessica and hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  5. Have safe travels and a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  6. I totally agree about waiting until after Thanksgiving to decorate for Christmas. The city put Christmas lights up through downtown the day after Halloween this year. It’s so hard for me to drag myself out of bed during the cold fall/winter months. I hope I can stay on a routine of getting up early after marathon training.

  7. mkadens1 says:

    I’m fine with wanting to put lights up before it’s freezing out but yeah wait til after Thanksgiving to turn them on. I too love a cold run! So peaceful and invigorating! We are hosting 23 for Thanksgiving so no travel but all the prep! Enjoy!

  8. I’m so with you on waiting until Thanksgiving is over, I’ve seen so many of my friends with their trees already up! Gosh, This week I’m traveling, actually as I type this I’m traveling. We’ll be at the in-laws for Thanksgiving then in Disney World next weekend. I am resting between my half marathon and my long run on Thurs. I hope you have a great week and thanks for linking.

Leave a Reply

