A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Transitioning from “training” eating to normal life

on November 11, 2015

With my last half marathon of the year wrapping up this weekend with Wine & Dine, it is safe to say that while the next two months will still include lots of activity, it won’t be nearly as long or as intense as it has been in the last couple of months of training. The trick now is turning down the amount of eating I’d been doing during running all of those miles and the post-race celebrations. That’s made doubly hard by the fact that Thanksgiving is coming and then Christmas after that. I could just say screw it and enjoy the holiday season, but there’s no reason I can’t get back on track for the remainder of the year.

My totally worth-it post-race indulgence in Disney: Nutella and fruit in a waffle. Yum!

My totally worth-it post-race indulgence in Disney: Nutella and fruit in a waffle. Yum!

How am I going to do that?

  • Track: It’s simple but effective. I’ll track everything I eat, every day. No more taking weekends off or parties off or even Thanksgiving off. I can own my choices.
  • Weigh & Measure: Tracking works best when I’m completely honest about what I’m eating and drinking. I do that best when I weigh and measure everything rather than estimating.
  • Weigh & Measure Myself Too: Back to regular weigh ins on Wednesday and Saturday mornings, plus body fat every week and measurements every couple of weeks. Weighing in definitely keeps me honest.
  • Find new foods: The good news is that we’re entering a whole new season of food as we come into winter. That means loads of soups and braises and stews. I can try out new recipes as well as some healthified old favorites and will keep you posted on the keepers we find!
  • Write it out: When I find myself wanting to eat something I don’t have the calories for or haven’t planned for, I’m going to stop and write down exactly what I’m feeling. Owning all of the feelings other than “hungry” can keep me on track during this stressful time of year.
  • Move it, move it! Just because I’m not running, that doesn’t mean I can’t keep burning those extra calories. In fact, I am now free to explore more workout options. Like I said in my goals for November, I want to walk more and do more strength training, as well as try out some gym classes. I may even take advantage of that free Black Friday thing I mentioned last week! While I’ll be tracking everything and continuing to work out, because I’m not intensely training I don’t need to be eating back all or even most of those calories I burn during these workouts, so I’ll be sure to set up My Fitness Pal accordingly.

It’s really tempting to just say “I’ll start over in the new year” once November rolls around, but even if the only thing I achieve is a slower or absence of weight gain, not even a loss, then I’m doing well. Most importantly, I’m keeping my healthy lifestyle a priority amidst all of the lovely chaos of the holiday season.

How do you transition from a “training diet” to a normal diet? Do you find it harder to stick to those changes the closer we get to the holidays?

6 responses to “Transitioning from “training” eating to normal life

  1. janerunswild says:

    I find the transition from a marathon diet to normal to be very tough, so just keep on working out. Thank you for your post!

  2. I love your mentality about staying on track through the holidays! These are great tips for anyone trying to stay on track. Great post!

  3. Yes to all of these!!! For me it’s so important to get on track now before the holidays start so that I have momentum to carry me through.

Leave a Reply

