A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A bizarre race weekend

on November 9, 2015

This weekend’s Wine and Dine half marathon did not turn out remotely like I expected, which I’ll talk more about tomorrow. Let’s just say this week’s total mileage ended up 6 miles short. Ah well – it was still a fun race to end my racing year with.

Workouts

Monday 30 minute walk and yoga – stretching and taking it easy

Tuesday I was supposed to run, but never made the time. Instead, I got in a 30 minute walk and a haircut with a glass of wine. 🙂 I also did some strength work.

Wednesday A 30 minute  run with some fartleks thrown in for fun.

Thursday Travel day! Loads of walking throughout the day

Friday Magic Kingdom and a trip to the Expo, so I got loads of steps. 17,000+ steps on the day before I had two races may not have been the wisest, but we had fun!

Saturday The Jingle Jungle 5K in the morning, plus the Wine and Dine Half-Half Marathon in the evening. Thrown in the middle of those two races was Oliver’s mad dash of a 200 meter run. Long story short (whole story coming tomorrow), thanks to “red flag” heat conditions and a scary thunderstorm cell coming through, the half marathon was delayed by an hour and shortened by 6 miles to about 7 miles. It was still fun and I’m super impressed with how smoothly things were handled for the most part. My good deed this week is helping another runner out of her costume (a giant gift box) after the 5K so she could get back on the bus.

Buzz & Woody!

Buzz & Woody!

Sunday Another big walking day, with 20,000+ steps at Epcot as an active recovery from my race. 🙂 My NSV is the fact that I didn’t eat all of my dessert at dinner. I just didn’t love it, so even though I had a little of that “I’ve earned it” mentality, I didn’t waste the calories on something that wasn’t worth it.

This week I’m grateful for the opportunity to travel for things like this and for safe travels so far. Wish us safe traveling vibes for the return trip! I’m also grateful that RunDisney was able to put together an event that was still fun for us despite the changes they needed to make to keep us safe,

I’m exhausted from all of this travel so that’s all I’ve got today! I’m joining Tricia and Holly for their weekly wrap-up. Thanks for hosting!

weekly wrap up


15 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A bizarre race weekend

  1. I had heard that the half marathon was cut short. And did I also hear that there was snow at the 5K in the morning??? I’m glad it still worked out well and you enjoyed it even though it didn’t go as expected. I look forward to hearing the details…and I hope you include a recap of Oliver’s race! There is nothing cuter than seeing little kids in a race. 🙂

  2. Meg B says:

    Oh man, that sucks about the race. Looking forward to the recap.

    AT least O had a rock star race!

    • Truthfully, I was a little grateful to be done faster given the heat. I was standing next to someone who had trained for this as her first half marathon. I felt bad for her, but no one can control weather.

  3. Bummer about the race for sure but glad y’all were able to get something in for running! That’s a lot of money and travel to not be able to run! Can’t wait to hear about O’s race!

  4. Oh my I can’t wait to hear more about your race! I too will probably be getting in loads of steps before my marathon down there but I’m thinking I better do it before cause I’m not gonna be able to walk afterwards, am I right? Thanks for linking up with us again this week! Have a great day!

  5. In all my years of running, I don’t ever remember so many races being cancelled or cut short as they have been this year! So crazy! I’m looking forward to your recap.

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    I had not heard they cut this half short. Oh my gosh, what a disappointment for all of you who trained so hard to run 13.1 miles. But, you can’t control Mother Nature. I guess it’s just part of it. My whole family loves Disney and can’t wait to return in January. I’m sure O had a blast. I appreciate you linking with us again!

  7. Sorry your race was cut short. Glad they put your safety first though. Can’t wait to read about Oliver’s race!

Leave a comment