A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

November Coffee Date: Going to need LOTS of coffee today!

on November 7, 2015

The day of the Wine & Dine half marathon has finally arrived so I am sure I’ll need LOTS of coffee to stay awake and run an overnight race. Actually, I suspect the nerves and excitement about the race will carry me through tonight just fine. TOMORROW – that’s when I’ll need an espresso IV drip. πŸ™‚

A coffee date today to settle my nerves would be a great distraction, so thanks toΒ  Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

One nice thing about flying out to Florida for the race this weekend was the chance to catch up on some reading while I was on the plane (yay for a 4 year old who will peacefully watch a movie while we fly!). I have two books reviews coming up this month, which are interesting to me in their sort of opposite approaches to being an overweight woman. I first read It Was Me All Along, which is the selection for Wendy’s Taking the Long Way Home Book Club in November. In this book, the author is a formerly overweight child, who lost weight as an adult and then struggled to deal with learning to love herself in the aftermath of all of that. As a recovering binge-eater, a lot of this book hit uncomfortably close to home. The second was Fat Girl Walking, written by a woman who is taking the approach of loving herself first as she is. It has been interesting to think about them both so closely together. I’ll have reviews for both of them up later this month.

I also read my first non-Archie comic book this month: Ms Marvel, which is very interesting. I TOTALLY agree with her sentiment here.

I also read my first non-Archie comic book this month: Ms Marvel, which is very interesting. I TOTALLY agree with her sentiment here.

I’d definitely ask your opinion on the whole Thanksgiving shopping insanity that’s going to happen later this month. While my family has always been very into Black Friday from a people watching, kick off the holiday season perspective, I hate the idea of shopping on Thursday (in a store anyway – totally okay with online!). I want Thanksgiving to get its own attention – it’s too rare that we stop and say thanks – and I hate the idea of people having to work on Thanksgiving. I was intrigued to see that not only are some places refusing to open Thursday, but that several health and fitness-related businesses are trying to encourage people to get out and move that day. Great idea!

I may actually look for a Gold's Gym down near my parents house for Friday!

I may actually look for a Gold’s Gym down near my parents house for Friday!

I’d mostly like to let you talk and distract me today, won’t you please? πŸ™‚ I apologize in advance if it comes up in conversation that I have already been wrapping Christmas gifts with Oliver:

Yes, I'm one of THOSE people who shops early. Wrapping this early, however, is an anomaly.

Yes, I’m one of THOSE people who shops early. Wrapping this early, however, is an anomaly.

We typically take a lot of our Christmas gifts down with us at Thanksgiving so we don’t have to mail as much and fight the post office. I usually don’t wrap this early, but I bought wrapping paper as part of a school fundraiser for my babysitter’s son and when she delivered it, I decided to take advantage of the moment to get some wrapping started.

Distract me from my night race nerves today! What would you chat about over coffee today?

Wish me luck tonight!

6 responses to “November Coffee Date: Going to need LOTS of coffee today!

  1. Ooh good luck with your race this weekend!! I’ve still not done a Disney race yet. I need to read more. I have a stack of books ready for me now to find time! Thanks for linking up for the coffee date I love these posts!

  2. And of course, I changed that book to January. I hope you’ll still link it up!

    Good luck at Wine and Dine!!! I can’t wait to read the recap!

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    Oh, good luck at Wine and Dine! That is one I have not participated in. I have never like Black Friday (just loathe shopping in general really) and would never shop on Thanksgiving Day. The only time I can find time to read is when I travel. So, I guess I should travel more often!

Leave a Reply

