A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Packing for a Racecation

on November 3, 2015

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is Packing for a Racecation, which is perfect as I’ll be finishing my packing for this weekend’s Wine & Dine Half Marathon tonight. Thanks as always to Marcia, Patty and Erika for hosting!

Tuesdays-on-the-run1

For this trip, I’ll be flying to Orlando. I’ve talked before about flying to a race and a lot of the things I’d written about in the past will hold true for this trip too.

  • Lots of water! I’ll keep my water bottle with me for the whole trip. It’ll be an early morning, so I’ll have to make an effort not to rely just on coffee to get through the day. It’s going to be warm and humid for the race this weekend, so hydrating before race day is important.
Important to keep these nearby for warm weather runs!

Important to keep these nearby for warm weather runs!

  • Everything I need for both races in my carry on: After losing my luggage in Italy this summer, I know just how easily everything can go wrong! I DO NOT want to be running my two races this weekend in things I have to buy at the Expo.
  • Waivers & race info for me and for Oliver: It goes a lot easier at the expo if you have everything with you.
  • Snacks for me and for Oliver: I don’t want to be the position of buying Oliver snacks in the airport because those are likely going to be less-than-healthy or GI friendly snacks. I’m already worried about my stomach getting upset with this night race – no sense in agitating things in the days before the race and yes, prepping for Oliver’s snacks helps me. Mom’s always seem to be left finishing the kiddo’s snacks so let’s make sure they’re good pre-race choices. πŸ™‚

Looking back at that first list of thoughts on flying to a race, I noted that I’d be reading the race packet on the flight to be sure I had the logistics planned out. I confess I haven’t done that at all for this race, other than the logistics of a night run itself. I’ll figure the details of timing and travel out once we get there. I’m definitely a lot more laid back about this race than I was Princess.Β  Hard to believe it’s my third runDisney race already and my seventh half marathon! This is definitely a just-for-the-fun-of-it experience, so I can be more laid back. On a purely practical level, I’m flying with Oliver this time rather than flying alone, so it isn’t like I’d have time to read the race packet on the flight out anyway!

My goal for the Jingle Jungle 5K is to take it slow and take lots of pictures! Hopefully this will be my slowest 5K as I need to keep my legs rested for the half marathon later that night. πŸ™‚ Always a fun goal to make, right? Expect a picture filled race report!

For the half marathon, I want to soak up every moment of it because I doubt I’ll ever run a half marathon in the middle of the night again. As an added bonus, I get to run through the Osborne lights and as Disney is closing down that phenomenal holiday light display for who knows how long after this year, I really want to enjoy the experience of running through them in the middle of night with only a few thousand running friends. πŸ™‚ So, no time goal for this race – just fun!

What do you bring with you when you fly to a race destination? I’ve got room in my suitcase so be sure to shout out your must-haves!

 

 

4 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Packing for a Racecation

  1. I am so excited to follow you through this weekend and the races! I don’t like to run, like at all but if I did, a Disney race would be on my bucket list that’s for sure! Are you guys going to get to spend some time at the parks? I’m sad that Osbourne lights are going away too but…. it will make room for Star Wars. πŸ™‚

  2. Patty H says:

    Those lights— sigh! They are really the best things ever. Have an awesome trip!

Leave a Reply

