A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Happy Halloween!

on October 30, 2015

We’ve got a Halloween theme to our Friday Favorites this week! Today, I get to go to Oliver’s Parade of Costumes at 3 pm. It’s a ten minute parade, but I have to get there 30 minutes before it starts if I want A) a decent parking spot so I can get out after its over and B) a decent parade viewing spot. Yes, preschool parents can be a little nuts.

Fingers crossed that Captain America mask holds up through the parade and trick or treating! It's gotten a lot of wear lately.

Fingers crossed that Captain America mask holds up through the parade and trick or treating! It’s gotten a lot of wear lately.

Like we talked about Wednesday, I tend to plan ahead to select a few treats for Halloween that make me feel like I’m celebrating the holiday without going overboard. Cooking Light had a round up of the nutritional content of the various snack sizes of Halloween candies, which may help you in planning in what your treats are going to be. The only time I ever eat Milk Duds anymore is from the little boxes at Halloween, so I was pleasantly surprised to see they were only 53 calories. That may be my treat for the night this time. πŸ™‚

 

While you’re making your choice, be sure to take note of these suggested wine pairings for Halloween candy here and here.Β  Twix (a personal favorite of mine) has the same chocolate-caramel tones as the Milk Duds and I love a good Malbec, so that may be my wine of choice to go along with trick or treating.

 

I’m planning on more of a snacky-appetizery meal plan for tomorrow night, rather than truly trying to sit down for dinner so this round up of Halloween recipes from Cooking Light is going to come in handy.Β  I particularly like the idea of black bean hummus (I LOVE a good hummus!). This recipe round up from Weight Watchers also looks good. That vegetable strata looks great and would be good for breakfast in the morning too.

On a non-Halloween, but absolutely too good NOT to share note, please check out this race report from the Marine Corps Marathon. I LOVE my race bling but can absolutely see why that kind Dallas runner shared his medal with Valerie. She kept going for hours after so many would have given up. The perseverance of the human spirit is one of the most amazing things about running for me and stories like this remind me what a fabulous little family we have as runners. Also, Jenny? AMAZING!

My little part-time fireman. There's a fireman hat, but I love that he prefers his fedora.

My little part-time fireman. There’s a fireman hat, but I love that he prefers his fedora.

Oh how much my baby has changed in two years! The fireman was from 2013 and now I’ve got a big kid who will be out after bedtime trick or treating because he has the stamina to cover more than our street. These holidays tug a mama’s heart strings. πŸ™‚

I hope everyone has a safe and Happy Halloween! I can’t wait to see everyone’s pics online all weekend.

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Happy Halloween!

  1. Meg B says:

    AW man, the little firefighter is adorable. Have a great Halloween!

  2. Aww! Hope O has a wonderful Halloween! Look how cute he is!

  3. Anna says:

    Sounds like you are going to have a fantastic weekend πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing the recipe round ups – so many great options!

Leave a Reply

