A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: An early start to Halloween festivities!

on October 23, 2015

This weekend, we’re getting an early start on Halloween activities with trick or treating at both the local grocery store and at the zoo. I’ll be sure to share some pics of our costumes if Oliver succeeds in costuming Darrell and I too. ๐Ÿ™‚ He currently wants me to dress as a princess and Darrell as a construction worker, but we’ll see how successful he is in that endeavor.

A small funny to start us off: Earlier this week Darrell was trimming an overgrown bush and sawed through the extension cord! He was okay but he tripped a ground switch in the house and we got lots of "steps" in for our workout for the day running around trying to find it!

A small funny to start us off: Earlier this week Darrell was trimming an overgrown bush and sawed through the extension cord! He was okay but he tripped a ground switch in the house and we got lots of “steps” in for our workout for the day running around trying to find it to get the power back on! – Also, we’ve now added a new extension cord to his Christmas list!

I’ve got a collection of things that gave me the warm-fuzzies to share this week. First up, read Melanie’s race report on Another Mother Runner. I’m a fairly stoic person and this had me tearing up. She was training for the New York City Marathon when she was diagnosed with breast cancer. Rather than abandoning the run all together, she and her community put together a marathon in her hometown as a celebration of her training before she starts treatment and I was so awed by her dedication and the support of her amazing community. People can do such wonderful things in such amazing circumstances.

A much lighter note of doing wonderful things despite the circumstances, check out Emmie’s post on making super cute lemons out of lemonade in terms of outfit choices. Rather than being depressed by the woeful lack of size options in some stores, she made great use of a too-snug dress from the new Target Adam Lippes line. As someone who always struggled to feel like I looked pretty and put together when I was plus size, I so admire Emmie for being a constant voice of “yes you can” in fashion.

I’m not saying I’m smarter than my beloved husband, per se, but some might think that since I’m the more educated of the two of us. I don’t know if you guys have seen the posts this week about men not actually being attracted to smart women, but I loved this response on the benefits of being married to a woman smarter than you. I hope Darrell saw this and agrees for the most part. ๐Ÿ™‚

You guys know I’m always interested in reading about and working on improving my body image and this week, I read a couple of interesting things that you should check out. First up is an interesting post about how we can get trapped by comparing ourselves not just to external barometers like the yoga instructor or the supermodel, but to our past bodies or even the future “aspirational” clothes we have for our ideal future bodies. This author writes about throwing away the old clothes in her closet and notes that she “was also throwing away a barometer for โ€œsuccessโ€ that no longer served me and frankly, never did.” I’ll be honest with you guys – that has me wanting to go home and toss everything in my closet that is just a little snug “but maybe I’ll get there.” She closes with the question “How can I do my best with what I’ve been given?” which has given me a lot to think about in terms of approaching my life in general and my relationship with my body.

I also really liked the Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls post about How to Combat Negative Body Image both because it presents concrete instructions for doing so, just like in a How To for anything else, and also because of the audience this is intended to serve: young people. I love the idea of proactively working on this when we’re young and these horrible thoughts about our bodies and ourselves first rear their ugly little heads.

I hope everyone has a great weekend! I hope you have glorious, non-rainy fall weather. We have a zoo Halloween party and a costumed 5K and kids race on our schedule this weekend, so I’m sure I’ll have lots of cuteness to share with you Monday. ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of cuteness, since this is a picture light post I'll also share this pic of my guy hard at work in math class. :)

Speaking of cuteness, since this is a picture light post I’ll also share this pic of my guy hard at work in math class. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

5 responses to “Friday Favorites: An early start to Halloween festivities!

  1. Run Wright says:

    I could be biased here but I think in most of the couples I know, the woman is the smarter of the two. The man just needs to be smart enough to attract her and keep her satisfied.

  2. […] Friday Favorites: An early start to Halloween festivities! Oct […]

Leave a Reply

