A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Race weekend!

on October 16, 2015

It’s a gorgeous fall weekend and I’m heading into a race on a lovely course with great crowd support. We need all happy thoughts for this Friday Favorites round up!

A laugh to start us off: As a word geek, I had to laugh at the spelling on this sign. It made me wonder if a foul smell might be part of the problem?

A laugh to start us off: As a word geek, I had to laugh at the spelling on this sign. It made me wonder if a foul smell might be part of the problem?

First up, this week included National Dessert Day and Disney Parks released a round up of 8 dessert recipes from Disney World and Disneyland. As a Disney lover, these have got to on my list of things to make for my weekly bake-a-thon for Darrell’s job. That chocolate hazelnut cupcake looks fabulous and is definitely on my to-eat list on our next trip!

Next up, and the absolutely perfect thing for me to read as I go into a race weekend with very different goals than I was anticipating when I registered months ago, is this post from Leigh Ann on Fellow Flowers. I’m not sure which part of this I like the best – the flower, which I totally want; the volunteers that held the finish line for her; her family’s support or the crowd support along the way. This reminded me so very much of why we do this, even when we know we aren’t going to win. We do this because we can and sometimes it brings out the best in ourselves and in those around us. My joints really flared up yesterday, so I don’t know what Sunday is going to look like but I know it’ll be okay. And I know that I want one of those flowers one day.

This was very satisfying.

This was very satisfying.

I was stressed at work yesterday and so I tested this out for the first time: Scream into the void.  I heard about this on a podcast recently – I think Pop Culture Happy Hour? and I have to say, it was even more satisfying that I was expecting. I won’t say how many times I had it scream for me. One warning: The scream is loud so be careful doing it in your office or you’ll startle people.

Yet again I’m giving a 4 pm lecture today. I’m a good teacher, but really – even I can’t do much against the distraction that sets in at 4 pm on Friday. I wonder if that gets factored into my evaluation scores?

Everyone have a great weekend! I’ll try to post updates on the race over on Facebook and/or Instagram, so be sure to follow along. Wish me luck!

10 responses to “Friday Favorites: Race weekend!

  1. That sign is hilarious. How hard is it to spell order?? Good luck on your race!! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  2. I hope you have an awesome race! Looking forward to reading the updates 🙂

  3. Sending you lots of happy thoughts for a great race! I know you will smartly handle whatever might come your way on race day in terms of a flareup. Enjoy the course, the course support, and the weather! You got this!

  4. Love desserts and I’ve done a lot of screaming without any help. LOL! The best place to scream is in the care with the windows rolled up or home along running through the house singing and screaming. Best if no else at home to witness the craziness. LoL

Leave a Reply

