A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Race week!

on October 12, 2015

This time next week, we’ll know how the Des Moines half marathon went. 🙂 I’m getting more comfortable with the idea of my modified goals for the race. As my non-runner husband put it, there is no “failing” if you run slower than you expect unless you’re trying to outrun zombies. Wise words.

Workouts

Monday I had a 2 mile run on the schedule, but walked this instead given my knee pain with Sunday’s run. The knee ached a bit, but it was better than it had been Sunday.

Tuesday 3 mile walk instead of the scheduled run, with things starting to feel back to normal thankfully!

Wednesday Rest day on the plan, but I did a 1 mile walk and some yoga/strength training.

Thursday Time to try to run again! I did a half mile warm up on the treadmill, which felt good enough that I went ahead and did my two tempo miles (originally three on the schedule, but I didn’t want to push it since this was my first run this week) without any real pain. The dull ache that I had was the same if I was running or walking, which was a relief I suppose?

Friday Cross training on the schedule, which threw me off a bit since this hasn’t been part of this Hanson-esque plan up until taper time. 🙂 I walked 2.5 miles.

Saturday I did 1 mile on the treadmill pre-self defense class and 1.5 miles after, for a total of 2.5 miles (2-3 on the plan). My arms and legs were sore after that self-defense class! It was really active. We talked a lot about “disqualifying” yourself as a victim, as much as you can, by being alert and projecting confidence. We also talked a lot about being aware of what weapons you have at your disposal if you are grabbed. We tend to freeze and forget that we might have our voice, our elbows, our knees, a free hand, etc at our disposal. Then we got to hit and kick stuff. A lot. The little kids kept stopping to look in the gym doors at all of the mommies doing things that were against the normal house rules. 🙂  I might like to do a more in depth class one day or even take some martial arts.

I also got in some extra walking at the Haunted Safari with Oliver, where we got to walk up to see wolves and bears, in addition to playing lots of Halloween games.

I also got in some extra walking at the Haunted Safari with Oliver, where we got to walk up to see wolves and bears, in addition to playing lots of Halloween games.

My good deed this week was helping a cute set of grandparents take a picture with their grandson while we were on the hayride at the safari. They were having some selfie struggles. 🙂

Sunday I had 6-7 miles on the schedule and did an easy 6 mile run. Like my earlier runs in the week, there was a little ache in my knee but it was the same whether I was running or walking, so I think my plan to do the half marathon but not push the pace too much is a reasonable one. I finished my 6 miles at Starbucks and then walked the 0.6 miles home with my soy latte. 🙂 It was a gorgeous day to run with perfect weather but even more fun was the yoga class I did with Darrell at 11. Sorry, no pics. He’d kill me. I’m proud of him for stepping outside of his comfort zone! It was a nice hour long beginner class and my muscles are feeling it this morning. I always work a little more in structured yoga class environment than I do at home.

Absolutely glorious golden fall morning!

Absolutely glorious golden fall morning!

All in all, it was a good taper week. This week, I have a 2-3 mile run today, 3 miles tomorrow with some speed pick ups and a 3 mile run on Thursday before race day Sunday. I’ll keep my eye on fueling well in this last run up to the race, which may be difficult because my four-year old is testing his boundaries, which can be a binge-trigger for me. Last night was a difficult parenting night and I’m so grateful that Darrell is a great partner in this endeavor. We are able to back each other up and work with each other and O to help him grow up to be a somewhat functional member of society. 🙂 “Does Captain America wear listening ears?” may have come out of my mouth last night. My NSV is recognizing that I needed to immediately fill the mixer bowl with soapy water so I didn’t eat all of the leftovers of cream cheese frosting I had after making this treat for Darrell’s job during the time of O’s little meltdown. I’ve gotten better at mitigating my triggers, that’s for sure.

Confession: In pre-weight loss days, my husband may have caught me eating cream cheese frosting spread onto a chocolate bar in the pantry.

Here’s hoping everyone has a great week and gets lots of lovely outside time in the fall weather (or at least gets some fall weather – I know my Texas people are experiencing some high temps!). I could watch the yellow and orange leaves of fall drift through the air for hours, which definitely impairs my productivity this time of year.

weekly wrap upI’m joining Tricia and Holly for their weekly wrap-up. Thanks for hosting!

 

12 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Race week!

  1. Um, that dessert looks pretty ahhhhmazing! I may have to invest in a loaf pan just so I can properly make it 🙂 Thank goodness for jobs, because I LOVE to bake but have to get rid of the goods so I don’t eat it all. Good job realizing your triggers and filling that bowl with water–that’s definitely one of my biggest weaknesses and SO hard to do! You rock!

  2. Ha loved your good deed! I too have selfie struggles! So glad you are walking and being smart about your knee and what your husband said is very true!! Also that is a major high five for staying out of the left over cream cheese icing! I’m not sure I could do it! 🙂 Thanks for linking up with us this week! I look forward to hearing about your race! Rest up, you got this!

  3. Ha! Love that quote from your husband! A self-defense class is something I really want to do. Enjoy your easy pre-race week!

  4. Meg B says:

    Yay Race Week! I love how positive you are about this race. I can’t wait to hear all about it. And yes, toddler struggles tend to be a binge trigger for me, too. I feel ya!!

    • His little brain is clearly working on something these days. On the plus side, he’s been a dream child since Sunday’s meltdown, other than drawing a heartbreaking picture of him and Mommy & Daddy with mommy & daddy having frowny faces. 😦

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    I love how you kept it real with the cream cheese and candy bar comment. I’ve been there. I’ve also mixed up cupcake batter, and never BAKED the cupcakes, in my much younger days. I hope your knee is better after a good taper week. Enjoy your race. Your husband is right, too. There is nothing “failing” about completing a half marathon. Thanks for linking up with us!

  6. Debra says:

    I wish more people would offer to take pics. I hate asking. I usually try to offer when I see families struggling w/ selfies or someone being left out. Great taper week! Good luck on your race!

    • I almost never ask when it is awkwardly trying to get the photo, but I do always try to help when I see someone struggling. It is interesting how we get so comfortable offering help, but not asking for it, in more than just photo taking.

Leave a Reply

