A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Taper edition

on October 9, 2015

One perk of running fall and spring races around the time that everyone else in the running world is doing them is the abundance of articles about tapering that come just around taper time. I’m busy enough with work that I haven’t been too plagued yet by the taper crazies and doubts other than trying to set reasonable goals, but I’m sure they’re coming so having these tips to read about managing tapering well has been handy this week.

  • Tackling Taper: Marathon and Race Taper Strategy Guide at Suzlyfe – I particularly like the bit about keeping moving, whether it is walking or easy jogging. I’ve erred in the past on the side of letting workouts fall completely off my radar when I taper and end up feeling stiff and sluggish. Even when I haven’t been able to run this week because of my knee, I’ve walked those miles just to keep going.
  • Tapering? Wrap it up with a burst from Runner’s World – The training plan I’m following suggested a tempo workout yesterday, 10 days out from the race (done!) and some speed play on Tuesday before the race, just to keep those quicker motions in practice. The key is not to overdo it! This article does a nice job explaining the rationale for that approach.
  • Eating well through the taper from Runner’s World – I’m covering far fewer miles than normal this week and yet I’m STARVING. I don’t recall that happening with prior tapers. Still, I’m focusing on making high quality choices and next week, will work on increasing my carbs a bit toward the end of the week in a healthy, non-cupcake way.
Dangerous: I got a gift card to a Cupcake Wars-winning local cupcake shop as a thank you for a lecture I gave yesterday.

Dangerous: I got a gift card to a Cupcake Wars-winning local cupcake shop as a thank you for a lecture I gave yesterday.

Last, but certainly not least, go check out Mary’s celebration of one year of healthy living, in terms of eating well, exercising, controlling stress and loving herself. It is just such an awesome celebration of all of the good things that come along with taking steps to take care of yourself. As always, Mary rocks. 🙂

A funny note to end your Friday on: Apparently the fruit in the midst of pie is part of a balanced meal. Just ignore the sugar and yummy crust. :)

A funny note to end your Friday on: Apparently the fruit in the midst of pie is part of a balanced meal. Just ignore the sugar and yummy crust. 🙂

I hope everyone has a great weekend! I’m taking my first self defense class tomorrow, which should be interesting. I’ll be sure to let you guys know all about it next week! Also, I have a 6 mile run this weekend and I’ll be taping my knee to see if that helps. Fingers crossed! Good luck to anyone racing this weekend!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Taper edition

  1. Meg B says:

    I really hope this taper works will for you. Love the advice and tips!

Leave a Reply

