A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Officially Tapering!

on October 5, 2015

I love the first day of tapering – no anxiety or race nerves, just the blissful joy of no more two hour runs for a couple of weeks. πŸ™‚ It came at just the right time too because the knee that bothered me on last week’s 11 miler acted up again yesterday during my 12 miler. Boo. Even worse, it was still sore this morning, which is concerning. Fingers crossed that it settles down this week! In the meantime, I’ll look into KT tape of a knee. I have KT tape but have never needed to use it before. This is the first time I’ve had any kind of knee issue. It’s hard to know what is the lupus and what is running related, because my hands and elbows are a little flared too. I’m definitely planning to run the Des Moines half marathon in two weeks, but am going to think long and hard about a safe goal. Regardless of how the race goes, I’m really proud of myself for sticking with the training, especially a training plan this intense, in the midst of the new lupus diagnosis. My fall races are definitely a celebration of that stick-to-it-ness more than anything else and it’s definitely a worth celebrating!

Workouts

Monday 3 miles on the hotel treadmill, with no real knee pain to speak of – very exciting after Saturday’s unpleasant run!

Tuesday I nailed 4 X 1 strength intervals (11:06 pace, 0.25 mile recovery) on the hotel treadmill. These strength workouts are tough, but feel great to get through!

Wednesday Rest day, but I did two 15-minute walks through the airport in Raleigh and in Chicago to get some movement in for the day.

Thursday I was so pooped from traveling that I didn’t wake up early enough for my tempo run. Instead, I switched Thursday and Friday’s planned workouts and did 3 easy miles on the road in the dark. Still no knee pain even though I was back on pavement, which was a relief.

Friday I confess I did my tempo run on the treadmill a little bit to cushion my knee, but mostly to finish the book I’ve been reading. πŸ™‚ I did 0.5 mile warm up, 3 miles at sub-11:20 pace and then 1 mile to cool down. I have loved these tempo runs and seeing that I really can maintain this pace for a while, which I haven’t tried in previous training cycles.

Saturday An easy 4-5 miles on the schedule and I decided to head out to the hilly neighborhood of horse farms across the road from my neighborhood. I even did a little running on the trail! The hills were interesting and new scenery is always fun, so it was a good little Saturday afternoon run all around.

Even better, I didn't crash and fall on these little trails!

Even better, I didn’t crash and fall on these little trails!

Sunday I ended up running in the afternoon because my stomach was a little off in the morning, with a plan for 12 miles and the middle 4 at race pace. Things went well to start with, including the race pace at miles 4-8 (all below 11:30). At mile 9-ish, I ran down a gravel hill I don’t normally take and I suspect that’s the reason my knee started hurting again at mile 10-ish. It slowed mile 10 by quite a bit, but I wasn’t brought to as much of a stop as I had been the weekend before and I was able to finish out the last mile relatively strongly. The more concerning thing for me is how sore my knee still is this morning. It’s gotten better as the morning has gone on, but I’m going to need to be gentle with it.

Throughout the week, I foam rolled or used the stick every day. I also did planks, clamshells and bridges to try to get back on a little strength training to support things. Tapering has come at a good time. I’m glad that I’ve gotten through this training cycle relatively intact and proud of myself for taking this on!

My good deed this week is paying way too much for baked goods and games, etc at Oliver’s Fall Festival this weekend. It’s all for a good cause, right? I’m grateful for friends who pass on cool new toys:

A BondiBand from the lovely Desiree, which does a lovely containing the new fluffier hair.

A BondiBand from the lovely Desiree, which does a lovely containing the new fluffier hair.

My NSV is wearing the same skirt to give my lecture in North Carolina this week that I wore when I went out there to speak two years ago. I may have regained a little weight, but my body is essentially the same, which is nice. Even better, I’m proud of myself for not obsessing about food and calories while I was traveling (or while we were celebrating our anniversary this weekend). I made the best choices I could and indulged only when it was truly worthy (i.e. creme brulee and a glass of wine at my anniversary dinner). I stuck to small portions of the richer foods and enjoyed every bite. Yay for balance!

This week, I have short runs and one more tempo run. I have to think about good choices to fuel my muscles smartly. I also apparently have to plan a Magic Mike XXL viewing party at my house for a bunch of ladies at work, which should be an adventure.

weekly wrap up

I’m joining Tricia and Holly for their weekly wrap-up. Thanks for hosting!

27 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Officially Tapering!

  1. Sounds like a great week! ❀

  2. Good luck with the tapering! Mine starts in a few weeks. I can’t wait to finally sleep in on a Saturday again! Great job on the nsv!!

  3. Here’s hoping your knee is just a phantom taper pain.

    But taping rocks. I actually do it the night before, and even just being taped up seems to make everything feel better!

    My knees have been good, but I’ll be taped up this weekend.

    • I’m hoping it’s just a phantom thing too. It’s infrapatellar, which isn’t typical for IT pain and it’s definitely getting better as the day goes on. Here’s hoping it is just a blip!

      • My knee (patella — runner’s knee, not IT) was bothering me for some reason yesterday, too. Seems fine today.

        Hopefully yours is too!

      • Thankfully it seems better today. I took a couple of days to walk instead of run and it’ll be back to normal by race day, I’m hoping! Thankfully, mine is also more infrapatellar than IT, so hopefully it will settle quickly.

        On Tue, Oct 6, 2015 at 2:20 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

        >

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Congratulations on a strong training cycle and making it to taper time! I think you’ll be OK come race day. Just rest as much as possible and enjoy your taper weeks. At this point, you don’t need to run much anyway. I tried taping my Achilles a number of times years ago, but wasn’t very good at it. Thanks for linking up with us today!

  5. Sounds like you are ready! I do love the taper. The only problem I have is self doubt. But I do like the cut back in my training!

  6. Meg B says:

    I love how happy you are about the taper. What an awesome week of runs. Fingers crossed for your knee!

  7. Glad you like the bondi band! Hope the knee feels better!

  8. Anna says:

    I am so impressed with how you have handled the rigors of your training schedule with everything else…on call week, work travel, celebrating…then throw in the lupus…you are a superstar! I wish I were just a little closer to Des Moines, so I could be there to cheer you on next week!!

  9. Yay for taper!!! I have used KT Tape and I do think it works!! Rest up and I believe your race will go just fine!! Thanks for linking up with us!!! Appreciate you!

  10. You *should* be proud to successfully do a tough training plan! Congrats on reaching taper. I hope your knee is back to normal soon.

  11. Debra says:

    Congrats on a strong training cycle and making it to your taper! Enjoy the rest!

Leave a Reply

