A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

October Coffee Date to celebrate my last long run!

on October 3, 2015

I can’t believe my last long run of this training cycle (really, of the year other than the two half marathons I’ve got to run) is tomorrow! My legs are tired so I’m definitely looking forward to taking a little break to run for fun for a while afterwards. We all know that won’t last long and I’ll be itching to train before we know, but for now I’m very much looking forward to a long taper. Thanks to my reading yesterday about how coffee helps with glycogen stores, I’ll definitely be enjoying my coffee this morning with a clear conscience. 🙂 Gotta get these legs ready to race after all!

Elixir of the gods

Elixir of the gods

This morning, if we were having coffee, I’d definitely ask your opinion on my clothing dilemma of the day. It’s my 6 year anniversary (and I didn’t forget!). My husband and I have plans to go out to a very nice restaurant for dinner and afterwards we’re going to do one of the locked room escape things he likes so much. The problem is thinking of something nice enough to wear to the restaurant that will also be appropriate for crawling on the floor looking for clues in the locked room. I have a dress that I typically wear tights under at work because it’s a little on the short side. I’m thinking I’ll wear the dress with heels and then just pull on the tights and switch to flats when it comes time to go to the Escape room. Any other ideas? I could go with a nice pair of pants but that just doesn’t scream anniversary date to me and I don’t want to be crawling around on the floor in a room I know is observed by video outside in a dress otherwise.

Speaking of heels, I’d also likely complain about the little blister I have from walking around too much in heels for a couple of hours on Wednesday. I was giving a lecture while I was in North Carolina and wore heels so I had my professional armor to boost my confidence (I’m not the only one that does that, right?) Now I’m stuck with a blister on my heel that is thankfully bothering me more with normal shoes that with my running, but still, Grrrr!

The Star Wars band aids stick really well!

The Star Wars band aids stick really well!

Today, we’re off for a fall festival at school, which I have a feeling will mean me shelling out lots of cash for lots of little things (and possibly to buy bake sale goods that I contributed to the sale – always a little weird). It’s all for a good cause, right?

Do you have any big plans today?

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

Thanks as always to Lynda, Coco and Deborah for hosting!

 

19 responses to “October Coffee Date to celebrate my last long run!

  1. Ugh! On the blister. I had a pair of wedges cut into my ankle not too long ago – I’d worn them in the past without that happening & I only had them on maybe 40 minutes.

    Leggings & a sexy top come to mind – & maybe a cardigan for while you’re crawling around?

    Happy anniversary! Another October marriage (ours is in 3 weeks).

  2. Carrie says:

    Happy Anniversary – that sounds like an exciting adventure. I need to see if there is something like that around here.

  3. Kelli says:

    I love your crocs and band-aid! Boo to the blister, though. And Happy anniversary!

  4. Happy Anniversary! Congrats on the long run getting that done is always a relief right? Lately my heels are giving me blisters too. Thanks for linking up for coffee today!

  5. That is a tough outfit to plan! Sounds like an interesting evening you have planned! Happy anniversary!

    • I went with leggings and flats to switch into under my dress and it worked reasonably well. I didn’t do nearly as much crawling on the floor this time as I had the time before, which helped.

  6. Coco says:

    Happy Anniversary! I don’t know much about those locked room things except we passed by one the other day – interesting! It sounds like you worked a good plan for your outfit. Thanks for stopping by for coffee.

  7. Happy anniversary! I hope you have fun! I have heard about the Escape Room but have no idea what it’s about. I hope you had a good long run!

  8. Meg B says:

    Oh heck yeah to wearing shoes to make you feel powerful! I do that all the time. Sorry about the blister though. Hope you found the perfect outfit that worked for you! Awesome job on your training!

  9. Happy anniversary! Your plans sound super fun. Since I’m a day late, you’ll have to let me know what outfit you ended up going with and if it was a good choice. 🙂

    • I went with a shorter dress and heels for dinner, swapped to flats and leggings under the dress for the rest of the evening. I was definitely cuter for the earlier part of the evening than later, but it worked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

