A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Anniversary weekend!

on October 2, 2015

I don’t know if you guys remember, but last year I sort of completely forgot my 5 year wedding anniversary.

Lovely anniversary gifts, including wood for 5 years. And of course earrings - I always get a selection of new dangly earrings from Target. :)

Lovely anniversary gifts, including wood for 5 years. And of course earrings – I always get a selection of new dangly earrings from Target. šŸ™‚

Even walking out that morning to see flowers, cards and a gift on a table didn’t clue me in to the fact I’d completely forgotten. This year, that is NOT going to happen! I made reservations at the nicest steakhouse in town and booked a slot in the locked room-escape game Darrell likes, plus picking up a gift. Darrell isn’t big into gifts, so it’s nothing big, but here’s hoping that a night of things he loves will be gift enough. That, and me not forgetting. šŸ™‚

This week included National Coffee Day, always cause for celebration for someone like me who doesn’t want to look too closely at exactly how much coffee I’m drinking every day. I enjoyed this article on “5 reasons it’s okay to drink coffee as a runner” because I’m all for anything supportive of my habit. Reasons #4 and 5 are my personal faves: Coffee is good, duh, and it makes everything more bearable (yes, IĀ  may have a problem with coffee). I was also intrigued by the glycogen uptake bit. It’ll be chilly when I finish my last long run on Sunday, so it looks like it would be good for my glycogen stores and good for my soul to stop for a soy latte on the way home from the park.

Elixir of the gods

Elixir of the gods

Lots of people are working to get some healthy habits this fall, before we head into the temptation fest that is the holiday season. Picking up to start again is part of this game – it definitely isn’t failure. What shouldn’t be part of this, but all too often is, is beating yourself for “straying” in the first place. This is hard work and life full of lots of hard work. It’s okay if every once in a while, other hard work takes priority. Just keep the healthy things you want to do someone on a back burner and come back to them as often as you need to. “Let’s stop pretending it’s ‘so easy’ to be healthy” is a great look at the lies we tell ourselves about how easy it is to get healthy.

A couple of weeks ago, the fabulous SwimBikeMom wrote a post entitled “The Monkey Bars” about the dangers of comparison and how careful we have to be about seeing ourselves negatively in relation to the other people on our chosen playgrounds in life. It’s a great read and definitely one I would recommend if you find yourself falling into comparison trip. Remember that as we set new goals and stretch outside our comfort zones, our peer group is going to change a bit. As a beginning Weight Watcher, I didn’t look like a lot of the other people who were farther along in the process. As a beginning runner, I didn’t look like most of the other runners. That’s okay because I was striving for a new thing. I run into this a lot professionally too. I could stay where I am and feel smart and successful and comfortable in doing just what I’ve always done, or I could try to take on new skills, knowing I’m going to feel stupid for a while. Change is scary and comes with feeling different for a while. That’s a good thing. “Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle / end.”

Last, but certainly not least, be sure to check out the lovely Meg’s awesome half marathon race report. I don’t want to tell you guys how many times I’ve read it, but trust me, it’ll make you smile. We all need smiles on Fridays.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

3 responses to “Friday Favorites: Anniversary weekend!

  1. Anna says:

    Hurray for remembering your anniversary and it sounds like you have a great evening planned! Congratulations šŸ™‚

    • I did tell him that this big swanky dinner/whatever you want to do anniversary celebration was for this year only, to make up for last year. šŸ™‚ Next year will be back to normal celebrating.

Leave a Reply

