A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Mentally exhausting week!

on September 21, 2015

At least looking back at my calendar, I did get a little running in and loads of steps! It was a rough work week, but I knew it was coming so I’d scheduled it around it in my training schedule. I can’t believe I’m just a little over 3 weeks from race day! That means this week, I’m back to intense training time but happy knowing that I only have two more long runs and two more of those evil strength runs to go! Woo hoo!

While I didn’t get all of my workouts in that I’d planned this week thanks to work, I did move EVERY day and my NSV for the week is the bajillion stairs I took this week. (156 floors for the week, per FitBit)

I don't know that my students always enjoyed the fact that I was taking the stairs everywhere. :)

I don’t know that my students always enjoyed the fact that I was taking the stairs everywhere. πŸ™‚

Workouts

Monday An easy 3 miles before my call shift started for the week – I always enjoy that last run without the extra work responsibilities!

Tuesday I knew I wouldn’t be able to get in the more substantial workouts this week, but I did want to get at least a little speed play in. I did 2.6 miles Tuesday morning with 6-7 fartlek pick ups thrown in to keep things interesting. I hadn’t done a run like this in quite a while and forgot how fun it could be!

Wednesday Thirty minutes walking

Thursday 1.5 miles of tempo running, with a total of 3 miles including the warm up and cool down

Friday Forty minutes walking

Saturday Thirty minutes of walking: I ended up at work for 6 hours on Saturday, so what daylight I ended up with was prioritized for my family over a run and I’m totally okay with that. I walked after bedtime and promised myself I’d wake up early to run Sunday morning.

I did weigh in on Saturday (I've been doing Wednesday & Saturday) and was happy to see the scale continuing its trend in the right direction.

I did weigh in on Saturday (I’ve been doing Wednesday & Saturday) and was happy to see the scale continuing its trend in the right direction.

Sunday I got up in the dark and got in a nice run before the sun came up. I’m not really sure how long I ran because my Garmin was completely without battery:

Major sad face :(

Major sad face 😦 I should have checked it before bed.

I ended up using Strava on my phone but it kept giving me an error message and saying it wasn’t able to refresh in the background, even though I know that was turned on correctly. Even though it kept cutting out, I kept running until it registered 6 miles so I know I got at least 6 miles in and got to see a lovely sunrise:

Like a vampire, this was my signal to go home since I had no hat or sunscreen.

Like a vampire, this was my signal to go home since I had no hat or sunscreen.

I did have some upset stomach during this run, so I may need to watch my food before these last two long runs. I’m not sure if it was general stress of my week or something about my meds, but I’ve noticed this on a couple of runs now and definitely want to get that right before race day! I also got in yoga with bedtime stories and strength training during the day.

I’m grateful that Darrell is such a great partner in parenting to make these tough work weeks easier for all of us. My good deed this week is volunteering to bring something to the prekindergarten bake sale. I’m open to suggestions for something bake sale friendly that’s nut free! I’m thinking some kind of pumpkin bar seems appropriate for a fall festival, don’t you? I confess, more than the baking, I dread the individual packaging that comes with bake sale goodies.

This week, I’m back on the training wagon with 6 days of runs planned, with a strength workout (2X2 miles at 11:10), a 3 mile tempo run and an 11 mile long run. Only two long runs left! Who else has a fall race looming?

weekly wrap up

I’m joining Tricia and Holly for their weekly wrap-up. Thanks for hosting!

16 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Mentally exhausting week!

  1. Angela says:

    I always think cookies are easier for bake sale packaging, so I thought I’d share a friend’s family awesome pumpkin cookie recipe: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B12Ogq-E5NFQMXVMdEhEejdGMTg/view?usp=sharing

  2. Meg B says:

    LOVE that you took the stairs everywhere. And I also love picturing you taking all those stairs with a gaggle of med students trailing behind you like little baby ducks. Way to keep them healthy!
    Good luck figuring out your stomach issues before your race.

  3. Great job planning around your crazy work week! I am seriously impressed–you totally seem to have it all together πŸ™‚

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Covering Honeycomb cereal with melted chocolate or vanilla coating is pretty easy. Just drop by spoonful on wax paper to set up. I can’t say the packaging will be easy though. Put a few in a Ziploc snack bag? Fitbit awarded me 100 floors in one day Sunday. And I didn’t run a very hilly route. I thought that was pretty odd. Good luck with the last 3 weeks of training! Thanks for linking up with us too!

  5. Anna says:

    Whew! Just reading your report of your busy week exhausted me. Way to get in your exercise no matter what. Kudos to your partner-in-crime. You are a lucky girl πŸ™‚

  6. You had a great week! When I think of bake sales I think of chess squares, they are so darn good! The gooey’er the better in my book! I know what you mean about all the individual wrapping. I use to make cupcakes quite a bit when my daughter was young in school. She always wanted cupcakes and boy did it take a lot of time to wrap all of them up with cute little bows! πŸ™‚ It’ so good you have a backup person to help you I know how much of a burden it can be! So very glad you linked up with us again this week! We appreciate you and a fantastic job on the scale! πŸ™‚

  7. Debra says:

    Awesome week of training! You do have a lot going on. Good luck with the bake sale! I’m not much of a cook.

Leave a Reply

