A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Family photos & looking with kind eyes

on September 17, 2015

We got our family photos back from the photographer yesterday and my mama heart thumped at all of the gorgeous and silly photos of my guy:

image

I also ADORE the photos of Darrell and Oliver together:

image

When I got to the photos that I was in myself, I’ll confess that I didn’t have such warm fuzzies. I saw way too many chins and too much belly and eye wrinkles. That is definitely NOT loving myself, so in the effort of practicing self love, I’m going to share these and look at them with kinder eyes. I’m going to see the love, the laughter and the gorgeous lighting.

image

image

image

image

I’ve come a long way in how I see myself but definitely have room for improvement. I need to work on getting those rose colored glasses on sooner. It’s funny – I generally HATE getting my photo taken. I actually put wedding photography on Darrell’s list in wedding planning because I hated even the idea of getting photos. In contrast, I always look forward to this photo session each year because I am so proud of my gorgeous family and because I love having this little snapshot of our lives (and of course, we love our photographer). When I see these photos of myself, I need to remember those things and view myself through that lens.

How do you feel about getting your photo taken? 

12 responses to “Family photos & looking with kind eyes

  1. LOVE these photos! Your family is beautiful! When that little boy looks at these photos when he’s all grown up *tear*, he’s not going to see the flaws that we’re so quick to point out–he’s going to see how much his mama loved him! (I’m saying this to myself as much as I am to you.)

  2. Oh my goodness. The one of you and your son snuggling noses. It’s too freaking cute. The pictures turned out wonderfully and everyone looks gorgeous!

  3. has2run says:

    They are beautiful!!!! I hate getting my picture taken, they are ALWAYS hideous. Thanks for sharing.
    bakingrunner.blogspot.com

  4. Anna says:

    Stunning family! Those pictures are so precious. I am a gazillion times more comfortable behind the camera than in front of it. I was looking back at some pics from last fall. I can see I was much more comfortable and feeling good about myself…I want to get back there.

  5. You look absolutely beautiful, happy and wonderful in your photos. Beautiful smile!

  6. I absolutely love these pictures! You look fantastic too. And oh so happy!

Leave a Reply

