A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Full of positivity today!

on September 11, 2015

I weirdly love the Friday of a four day week. You get the joy of Friday, but because it was a shorter week, you’re not nearly so run down and you’re pleasantly surprised that the weekend is already here again. πŸ™‚ Of course, I have an outing to Children’s Theater in my future so maybe I shouldn’t be so excited about the weekend. I confess, I find it painful, but Oliver loves it.

Every day since this bulletin board has been put up at school, O tells me that he's going to ask his teacher if he can make a "Jessica" flag for me - he's fascinated that I have a name - so I can ride in the boat with him. :)

Every day since this bulletin board has been put up at school, O tells me that he’s going to ask his teacher if he can make a “Jessica” flag for me – he’s fascinated that I have a name – so I can ride in the boat with him. πŸ™‚

In light of my cheerful outlook on the world today (yay for lots of coffee making up for an otherwise chaotic morning!), let’s look at some happy things I’ve found online this week. First up, a couple of good causes:

  • For the month of September, ASICS is partnering with Cookies for Kids Cancer to support the fight again pediatric cancer. To participate, they’re asking that people celebrate National Pediatric Cancer Awareness Day on Sunday September 13th, by being active in a way that many of these children unfortunately cannot be. Take a photo of yourself and your family playing outside (or inside) on Sunday and share it on social media with the hashtag #Run4Cookies. For every 100 uses of #Run4Cookies, ASICS will give a lucky winner a pair of children’s and adult’s shoes from the Accelerate Hope collection, benefiting Cookies for Kids Cancer. When you pledge, you are joining families in all 50 states that will Run 4 Cookies to celebrate the lives of children and create awareness around pediatric cancer. We will definitely be out playing on Sunday!
  • Greg, over at Why I Run Disney, is raising money for AdoptionLink as part of his participation in the Chicago Marathon. There are so many children in need of homes and support, so definitely check out his page here for more information and to help out. As a bonus, be sure to follow to see his reports of the DisneyLand races this past weekend. πŸ™‚

Next up is Serena Williams’ absolutely FANTASTIC response to body shamers last week. Check it out here. I just love the quote “I don’t have time to be brought down, I’ve got too many things to do. I have Grand Slams to win, I have people to inspire, and that’s what I’m here for.” I wish I had a tenth of her positive perspective!

As some food for thought for developing our own positive perspective, check out this article from SparkPeople on 11 ways to silence your inner critic. I found the tips interesting in themselves, but really appreciated the links for further reading at the end regarding actual exercises to improve your self-compassion (here), among others.

Last, but certainly not least, for a laugh to lead into your weekend, check out this round up of running memes. My favorites are #3 and 4 – I’ve literally looked around before to figure out who was running near me, only to realize it was my own legs clapping that I was hearing. πŸ™‚

One more pic of my big boy: Walking Abby for the first time as we left PetSmart this week. He was so proud! Abby was uncertain about the whole arrangement. As much as she likes him, I don't think she trusts him.

One more pic of my big boy: Walking Abby for the first time as we left PetSmart this week. He was so proud! Abby was uncertain about the whole arrangement. As much as she likes him, I don’t think she trusts him to be in charge.

Aside from the Children’s Theater, we also have family photos on the schedule this weekend. Here’s hoping O gets through his school day intact enough to be photo worthy tonight! What are your big plans for the weekend?

3 responses to “Friday Favorites: Full of positivity today!

  1. Hmmm, this weekend I’m getting a haircut, my BIL and SIL are coming for a quick visit, aaaaaaaaaaaaaand that’s about it! Oh, and meeting up with Desiree, of course! πŸ˜€

  2. Anna says:

    My inner critic needs a muzzle – thanks for sharing the article. I appreciate actual exercises and am looking forward to checking out the ones you linked more in depth.

Leave a Reply

