A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Happy Labor Day!

on September 4, 2015

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m looking into working on stress management a little more actively in my days. That means more mindful yoga, because I’ll confess to you guys that my yoga poses are usually done while chatting with O and Darrell as they do bathtime. Good for the stretching, maybe not the best for the meditative, stress relieving part of yoga. I got an online yoga membership from Groupon or Living Social a couple of months ago and have yet to use it. I promise I will this month! I also liked this article from Spark People with 8 Seated Yoga Poses – I could do those in my office! It would be a moment to stop and breath and think about my body rather than my work. That’s definitely something I can do and that would help! Pausing now to try some out . . .

There was also a post from Spark People on A Guide to Walking Meditation. I struggle SO much with meditation because I get antsy just sitting there. Yes, I know the purpose is to practice and get used to settling the antsiness. In the meantime, I like the idea of walking meditation. A church we attend has a labyrinth that I love walking through and it isn’t far from work. I should stop by more often. 🙂

Even without a labyrinth or other "special" place to walk, I can be more aware of my feet, my breath and my space when I'm walking anywhere and everywhere.

Even without a labyrinth or other “special” place to walk, I can be more aware of my feet, my breath and my space when I’m walking anywhere and everywhere.

As we head into a holiday weekend, I really appreciated Amanda’s post this week about avoiding the “I’ll start tomorrow” mindset. Every moment is a chance to make a better choice and avoid that slippery slope. Hopefully I remember this as we get through a weekend with two pastry-filled celebrations!

Lastly, I have to share this quote with you from the lovely Kristin at Stamped with a Heart (post here) – “Don’t move the way fear makes you move. Move the way LOVE makes you move. Move the way JOY makes you move.” (From Osho) I love this quote and it is such a perfect thing to take with me into a tough month of training and for all of us to take with us into the weekend as we try to juggle our workouts with all of the other things that pile into our lives.

Who else has big plans for the long weekend? Wish us luck getting through without binges (family involved, so stress is a given!) or sugar-induced pre-schooler meltdowns. Thank goodness O is generally such a sweetie. 🙂

Whatever you do this weekend, stay safe!

10 responses to “Friday Favorites: Happy Labor Day!

  1. Kristin says:

    Hey!! I love that you’re interested in walking meditation!! I’ve done walking meditation and it’s actually pretty cool because there’s a technique to it like how you walk. Very cool!! Also I think it’s a great idea to incorporate yoga with running and it’s a great way to prevent injuries and setting an intention for the day!! 💗💗 thanks for your sweetness too!! You’re the best!!

  2. Aww thank you so much for the kind words ❤

  3. I’ve been “meaning to” try yoga for months now, and still have yet to do it. When we feel like there’s so much else that has to be done, it’s hard to take time out and do something like yoga or meditation. I am definitely checking out the seated yoga and walking meditation articles–thanks for sharing!

  4. I love that quote. I love yoga. So it all fits together for me!

  5. Anna says:

    I have been playing with yoga a little bit this past month, but all my focus goes into trying to “get” the pose it hasn’t been very calming. Surely practice will help.

Leave a Reply

