A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

My first time with Bulu Box

on August 29, 2015

This month, I got the chance to review the Bulu Box program through Sweat Pink (I was given the box for free to review, but opinions are my own as always). While I’ve tried a subscription box of snacks before (Graze, thanks to one of those coupons in some magazine for a free trial), this is the first time I’ve tried something that focused more on vitamins and supplements. I’m not a huge supplement person, but I’m also someone who HATES spending the money on a vitamin or other supplement and then realizing it didn’t work out for some reason. You can waste a ton of money! In addition to my arthritis meds and a vitamin D supplement, I take a multivitamin and a flaxseed oil supplement for the omegas. I can’t tell you how many bottles of vitamins or fish oil that I’ve thrown out because I couldn’t stand the taste! Thus, I was pleased to see that two of my samples to try were a multivitamin and a omega supplement.

My box of goodies, along with a postcard describing everything in the box.

My box of goodies, along with a postcard describing everything in the box.

So far, I’ve tried the Ovega-3, which is a vegan, algae-based omega supplement. It has absolutely zero aftertaste and didn’t upset my stomach, so I’d definitely pick up a full size of that after I finish my current supply of flaxseed! I also tried the Martha Stewart vegetarian multivitamins. They’re chewy and taste okay – not too sweet or artificial, not too medicine-y. I didn’t have reflux or “re-taste” them over and over like I do a lot of vitamins, which is a perk. The nutrition  panel is pretty much the same as my current Flintstones with the exception of the added “vegetable” extracts – a whopping 17 mcg. I confess, you made me laugh there Martha. 🙂 I got a whole bottle of these, so I’ve had a whole week to really test them out and see how they worked for me. That’s definitely a nice thing – with a lot of trial offers, you really don’t get enough of the product to tell anything about it.

The other thing I did get a large enough sample of to make a definite NO decision on were the FunnBar protein chews. They were like Starburst in appearance but the taste – not my thing. I’ll take my protein in a powder or string cheese, thanks. On the plus side, at least I tried them here rather than paying for a lot of them because I saw them at the store and got intrigued, which a perk of this kind of sample box. If you’re interested in getting more protein into your day, this is definitely a delivery mechanism I hadn’t thought of before.

It is a super cheerful box to see in your mail!

It is a super cheerful box to see in your mail!

With the Bulu Box program, you choose either the traditional box or weight loss box (I was a little put off by the fact that all of the photos on the site were more geared towards to the weight loss and seemed very “too good to be true-back of the magazine ad” quality). You can do a month-to-month subscription or a 3, 6 or 12 month plan, with a slight discount on your monthly cost if you do the 12 month plan. It’s $10/month for the month-to-month, 3 and 6 month subscriptions. That price is reasonable given the amount of stuff you get in the box (4-5 items). It might be a fun thing to check out every once in a while or to gift to a friend more interested in supplements than I am. You can also complete surveys about the products and get credit to use towards purchasing full size items down the road, which is a nice perk. With each kit, there’s a card that includes the price for full sizes of any product you’re interested in, which makes it quick and easy to see if you’re interested in buying something you’ve tried.

If you’re interested in trying Bulu box, take advantage of the SweatPink discount code: SWEATPINK for 50% off a 3, 6 or 12 month subscription on BuluBox.com.

Have you ever tried a subscription box? Which ones did you like?

6 responses to “My first time with Bulu Box

  1. I have to ask, what did you think of Graze? I was curious about it but read about a million nightmare reviews about people were were getting charged for their free box, or with Graze continuing to charge after cancellation. Totally scared me off of doing it and was just like, I’ll make my own damn snacks lol.

    • I wasn’t impressed with the snacks themselves flavor wise nor with what I got for the money. I didn’t really have trouble canceling though, but you had to act quick to get things stopped before you got charged for the next box.

      >

  2. Your box was completely different from mine! Interesting that you got all those supplements. It’s like they knew you!

  3. The only subscription box I’ve tried is Julep, which is nail polish and make-up. I LOOOOVE it, but don’t want to fork over $25/month for it (yet). I’ve gotten several free boxes (I may or may not have signed up with different email addresses) though because I’m kind of a nail polish-oholic. Bulu looks interesting though!

Leave a Reply

