A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Running Bras

on August 25, 2015

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is Running Bras, something literally near and dear to this mother runner’s heart. πŸ™‚ Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and April for hosting!

Tuesdays-on-the-run1

I have tried a lot of different bras to find something that would be truly supportive for my 36D girls and the Moving Comfort Women’s Juno Bra (link here, just FYI – no perk for me) is the one that works best for me. It minimizes bounce and doesn’t chafe or cause those weird little dots of bruising on my shoulders. It also does enough separating to keep me from getting chafing under/between the girls unless it’s uber-sweaty, which is nice.

Pic from Amazon - Mine are all black, not this lovely purple

Pic from Amazon – Mine are all black, not this lovely purple

One disadvantage of being larger is that I have to pay a lot more to get something supportive and they usually aren’t nearly as cute as the smaller cup sizes. It’s worth it in terms of support though. Any time I buy a cheaper, cuter bra, I regret it when I end up with black eyes from the bouncing. πŸ™‚ Maybe not literal black eyes, but definitely an urge to run with my arms over my chest! It takes a lot of trial and error to determine what is going to work for your particular body type.

  • Try it on in the store before you bring it home and bounce around a little. For many bras, I can tell immediately that they aren’t nearly supportive enough for me in the dressing room.
  • If anything rubs or feels uncomfortable in the dressing room, it’ll probably be amplified on the run – be wary!
  • Only buy one of any particular style at a time until you’re SURE it works for you. Some problems don’t become apparent until you’ve worn them a while, so you don’t want to invest a fortune only to find out it doesn’t work!

At this point in life, I know I can’t rely on reviews online or in running magazines. It turns out, sports bras are a very personal thing – we all have our own particular quirks. I used to get all excited because other D cup women would rave about a bra only to find out it doesn’t work at all for me so now I stick with what I know works for me. Definitely try things out yourself before you invest too much by buying a bunch of bras other people recommend! That being said, now that I have something I like, I’m okay with spending the money. I can save in other places – I’m going to invest in a good bra and shoes because they make running a thousand times more bearable. I do lots of laundry so I can get by with fewer bras. πŸ™‚ I’m envious of people who can get more than wearing out of a sports bra! I’m super sweaty so that doesn’t really work for me unfortunately.

Really, as much as I spend on these I should follow April’s advice about lingerie bags and line drying – definitely make sure you guys do that!

What’s your must-have, don’t-compromise piece of running equipment? Be sure to check out the link up for everyone else’s advice and tips on running bras!

 

 

13 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Running Bras

  1. I need to get a good sports bra (I actually need new bras period after all the weight loss) but am so hesitant to spend the money. I know that’s silly but for now I just double bag. And my can’t live without gear are my Feetures socks. I get really bagiggity if I don’t have any clean ones!

  2. I’ve had a hard time finding the right running bra, but finally found one I really like, that fits me very well: Champion Show-Off. It runs S/M/L/XL, so there’s no cup size, but it fits like a glove!

  3. I have two must haves–a supportive sports bra and a pair of shorts that don’t ride up!

  4. My favorite running bras are Champion (not the Target brand). I’ve tried others, but I always come back.

  5. I don’t skimp on shoes or skirts. I have chunky thighs, so buying skirts that work for me saves me from crazy chafe. I’m not overly endowed, so I can get away with cheaper bras and I have a thing about wearing bright colored ones, so I have a lot. And yes, always always line dry (I also line dry my skirts and my compression socks…)

  6. I love moving comfort. They are my favorite. While they are not cheap, they last a logn time which is nice.

    • They do hold up really well. I’ve got a loose clasp on one of mine and it makes me sad to think of putting it out of commission. 😦 Still, I’ve had it a couple of years so it has worked hard!

  7. […] first run (and far too many after that – for months!). Back then, I was 46DDD. I needed a serious sports bra and waited far too long to plunk down that money. Seriously the best money I spent on […]

Leave a Reply

