A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly WrapUp: Miles creeping up!

on August 24, 2015

This week, my mileage totaled 26.7 miles, which is more miles than I’ve gotten in a single week in any of my prior half marathon training cycles and I’ve still got two months to go! No wonder I’m hungrier than usual. πŸ™‚ Other than the hungries, I’m still holding up fairly well. My knees and feet are a little achy, but that may be the arthritis. My cranky left hip/glute is behaving nicely (knock on wood) as is the Achilles I tweaked in the spring, so the yoga and gradual increase in miles are working well together. I definitely should get back on board the foam rolling train and confess that I whiffed a bit on strength training this week (some occasional body weight exercises thrown in but nothing dedicated), but overall things are going well. I’m joining Tricia and Holly for their weekly wrap-up. Thanks for hosting!

weekly wrap up

Workouts

Monday Easy 3 mile recovery run – I’m still amazed at how much I enjoy these runs. In my other training cycles, the day post long run has been a rest day. It turns out,Β  a slow easy run is nice too! This is always my slowest run of the week (usually 13:30-14 / pace) but it feels good to move again.

Tuesday Speed work: 3 X 0.5 mile at 10:00/mile pace – I was worried after last week’s workout that I wouldn’t be able to hang in for this one but I totally rocked it! I covered the display of the treadmill with my towel so I couldn’t watch it count down and set a timer on my phone for 5 minutes. I just kept moving until the timer buzzed and then checked the display to see if it was time to stop. It worked like a charm! I think it also helped that I a) didn’t drink a soda on the way to the gym (FAIL last week) and b) took some Tums before the run. I have a little gastritis from the arthritis meds and speed work really ups the stomach irritation unfortunately. 4 miles total for this workout, with warm up and cool down.

Wednesday Rest!

Thursday I was supposed to do a tempo run, but couldn’t get myself moving (like I talked about in my confessions here) so I did 3.1 miles easy run instead, plus another 1.2 miles walking to the library to return some books. I also did squats and lunges while I cooked dinner and planks before bed.

Friday I got the tempo run in Friday on a gorgeous morning. This week called for two tempo miles and like before, I used my anticipated race intervals to see if I could hit race paces and it worked: mile 1-11:15, mile 2-11:03. 4 miles total, with warm up and cool down thrown in.

I was rewarded with a gorgeous sunrise after my tempo run!

I was rewarded with a gorgeous sunrise after my tempo run!

Saturday 3.6 easy miles (well, easy-ish – runs should not start at 10:45 am in August)

Darrell & I did a locked-room mystery game for date night Saturday - I highly recommend it! (And yes, we figured it out!)

Darrell & I did a locked-room mystery game for date night Saturday – I highly recommend it! (And yes, we figured it out!)

Sunday Long run time: I convinced Darrell and Oliver to take me to the park for a change of scenery and logged 9 miles. Thanks to the cooler weather, they were all around 12:30ish pace, which is speedier than my prior long runs. I also got in some yoga and planks in the afternoon.

The park was hopping with lots of people out running, walking and biking on such a gorgeous day!

The park was hopping with lots of people out running, walking and biking on such a gorgeous day!

All in all, a pretty good week. My good deed this week was donating Gatorade to our high school football team at their pre-season scrimmage. O had little interest in the game once he realized he wasn’t allowed to get out there and play. πŸ™‚

I’m grateful for this spell of weirdly cool August weather. Not to make anyone too jealous, but I had to wear a long sleeved shrug on my easy run this morning because I was chilly.

I thought I'd eventually warm up and take this off, but I really didn't. I love this weather!

I thought I’d eventually warm up and take this off, but I really didn’t. I love this weather!

My NSV is wearing pants on Sunday for the first time in ages. (Whew! They fit!) Also, I talked to the friend that triggered the whole “Outing myself as a binge eater” episode earlier this summer and didn’t binge even though I’d been dreading that conversation all week. It went reasonably well and now it’s mostly resolved, but it was not a conversation I’d looked forward to.

This week, I’m essentially repeating last week’s workouts with the exception of upping the long run to 10 miles and the other weekend run to 4 miles, instead of 3-4. I’ll be doing the 10 miles at the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race, which will be fun. I loved that race last year and still consider it one of my most successful race efforts. I don’t have nearly as lofty goals this year for this race and will likely treat it as a training run, but I’ll still get a medal which is lovely.

Do you ever treat races as training runs? I like the idea of not having to worry about water (although I still may carry my own, depending on weather) or where exactly to map out the ten miles and the applause at the finish is alwaysΒ  nice, even I am near the back of the pack.

22 responses to “Weekly WrapUp: Miles creeping up!

  1. I do some races as training runs, but it’s hard to convince myself to go slow in a race atmosphere! Still, it’s good to practice pacing.

  2. I try to treat races as training runs once in a while, but even tho I’m also BOTP, I’m competitive and I tend to race. But nothing like a little confidence from your race!

    Sounds like you’re doing a great job. That’s a lot of running!

  3. You’re a rock star for STARTING a run at 10:45 am in August; I’m afraid I might not be able to get myself out the door! I definitely enjoy using races as training runs; you already mentioned one great reason (the support!), but it’s also nice to have people cheer you on and get a little extra motivation to finish strong! Way to go!

    • I got lulled by the fact that the temp was in the 70s but it got hot fast! It’s a trade off – later Saturday runs for a breakfast date with my kiddo. It’s a pretty good trade most days. πŸ™‚

  4. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    Yes, I treat races as training runs. I have 4 in the fall. I think it is a great way of building racing experience in general and making long runs less boring !

  5. Awesome week of runs! Glad you are keeping the hip crankiness at bay. I AM jealous that you wore a long sleeve top! It was pretty cool here too, getting down to 58! Made me very happy. πŸ™‚ Here’s to another great week & fun race!

  6. Awesome week! Enjoy the weather–I hope it’s there to stay!

  7. I remember that deal with your friend, and I am hoping it was a productive conversation! As always, you rock your runs!!

  8. HoHo Runs says:

    You had a great long run this week! I can’t fathom that anyone could be wearing long sleeves right now. So jealous!! I may run a half next month just to practice pacing for my October marathon. But, then that competitive thing will probably kick in. That is a beautiful sunrise! Thanks for linking up with us today!

  9. Meg B says:

    Awesome week of runs! I treated one race as a training run. It’s hard not to push myself harder than I should because I get so pumped up when I’m running in a race.

  10. Wait am I the only one who didn’t get the “locked-room mystery game” What is this??? Sounds very interesting! Yes I agree you had a great week of running! And you did make us all jealous in the long sleeves! Ahhh maybe come November we can see some of that lol! Have a great week and thanks so much for joining us again this week!

Leave a Reply

