A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Fall Races!

on August 11, 2015

Running fall races is definitely a highlight of the year. They’re usually cooler and offer the possibility of celebrating afterward with warm and cozy pumpkin flavored somethings! Yum! Fall races are an especially great to thing to look forward to as we slog through the dog days of summer running. Thanks to April, Patty and Erika for hosting this week’s Tuesdays on the Run, as always.

Tuesdays-on-the-run1

At the moment, I’m registered for 4 runs this fall:

Peak 2 Peak 10 Mile Run – I ran this last year (see the recap here) and it remains my most successful race, in terms of setting a goal for my time and pacing and effort and actually meeting it. My English teacher from high school is dying a little at the grammar of that sentence, I know. I was highly motivated at that time to get my updated proof of time for the Star Wars half marathon with Disney and to redeem myself after a disappointing 5K, effort-wise, at the Go Girls Run just a week before. This year, I’ll confess that I don’t have nearly that level of motivation (for reasons we’ll talk about in a second) so I’m just planning on running this for fun as my 10 mile training run for that week. Obviously, if the weather is good and the mood is right, I’ll run it hard but I doubt I’ll be looking at a PR given that I haven’t been able to sustain anything near a 10:45 pace for 10 miles since last fall!

Des Moines Half Marathon 2015 – I also ran this last year and was disappointed with my mental finish. I just gave up at the end. I also had some binge troubles over that weekend, so I’m looking for an all-around do-over for this race weekend! I can’t really think about a PR in the midst of summer heat, when I feel like I’m SO slow, but I can think having a good mental race, which is what I really want, and a weekend of better food choices. I’m really looking forward to that race weekend and highly recommend Des Moines for anyone looking for an Iowa race!

I loved the miles that looped along the water in Des Moines

I loved the miles that looped along the water in Des Moines

Mickey’s Jingle Jungle 5K – A new race to me and one I’m really looking forward to! As I’m also running the Wine & Dine Half Marathon the same day as this 5K, this will be a race for lots of pictures and very little running. 🙂 I can’t wait!

Honorable Mention – O’s First Disney Kids Race! This isn’t really on MY race schedule but Oliver is doing his first Disney kids race when we’re there for Wine & Dine and is already so excited. We’re “training” with runs around the block and the neighborhood and I can’t wait to watch him get his first Mickey medal!

Check out that speed!

Check out that speed!

Wine & Dine Half Marathon – My first overnight half marathon & my ticket to my first Coast to Coast medal! I’ve heard great things about this race and can’t wait to experience it myself. This will be a little less than a month after Des Moines, so I’ll be focusing on getting ready to run at night more than any particular time goal. I’ve had trouble fueling before night runs many times, so if I can get through this run with a happy tummy, that’s a win!

Between the heat of summer and the challenge of a new training plan, I haven’t really thought much about PRs at any of these races despite my goal of a sub-2:30 half marathon this year. Beyond the heat, I’ve also had some trouble with arthritis in my hands, wrists and elbows for the last 6 weeks or so that have got me hooked into a bunch of medical work up because I’m a little young for arthritis. The good news is that the rheumatoid arthritis stuff is negative so I’m less worried that I have some destructive joint stuff going on and have been told I can keep running, but some other stuff is hinky so I’m still going to see a rheumatologist. I’m trying to avoid stressing out about it, but it has definitely been a distraction. Running is actually the thing that is currently making the feel best (other than some new knee aches that come along with this spell of symptoms) so I’m glad I have the challenge of this 6-day-a-week training plan to keep me distracted. For now, my goal is getting through this training plan, which is a definite step up in intensity for me, and through all of this medical stuff without any binges or other stress induced badness. Any good race times will just be a bonus 🙂

I love being a running blogger in the fall because I get to read lots of race reports! What races are you looking forward to this fall? Any big goals?

2 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Fall Races!

  1. You’ve got some really great races coming up! I”m looking forward to your recaps!

Leave a Reply

