A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: 6 days of runs!

on August 3, 2015

For the first time in my life, I have run 6 out of the last 7 days and you know what? My legs feels fine other than an occasional twinge in my left glute at the end of a run. Amazing! I know I have to take it easy and be smart about these miles, but it’s nice to see how far I’ve come. True, this week’s miles were slow in deference to a) first week of 6 day runs and b) the heat, but I got them done and that’s very gratifying.

Workouts

Monday 2 miles in the morning at 13:19 pace – I’m finding that these post-long run runs are actually working out okay so long as I take them slow. I don’t think I could run quickly to save my life but I can get things moving. 🙂 It really is remarkable how much it helps keep things loose. I made sure to foam roll as well Monday night (and do some planking while I was on the floor!).

Tuesday I woke up to run! I’ve had a hard time hauling myself out of bed on the last few Tuesdays, but I was DETERMINED to do it this week and I got it done. 3 miles, 13:32 pace. I’m not speedy this week, that’s for sure. I’m feeling my age this summer.

Wednesday Rest!

Thursday 2.87 miles at 12:37 pace. This was supposed to be a 3 mile run but I screwed up and arrived back at home a little too quickly. As I’d decided to run a 10K on the weekend, I figured I’d make up the missed mileage there. I definitely struggled with the urge to go back out after work for the extra 0.13 miles but convinced myself that would be crazy. 🙂 I also did a round of body weight strength exercises, including single leg bridges, squats, planks and calf raises.

Friday 2.02 miles at 12:50 pace – I really felt like I could have gone closer to the 3 (2-3 miles on the plan) but had to be at work early to introduce a student for a presentation, so made myself go home early. While I definitely feel like my legs are a little heavier with the extra days of running, it’s nice to know that they still feel like they could go further.

My gratitude moment for the week: I got a thank you card from the student I introduced for all I've done with her over the last few years and I was so grateful that I get to be part of teaching people!

My gratitude moment for the week: I got a thank you card from the student I introduced for all I’ve done with her over the last few years and I was so grateful that I get to be part of teaching people!

Saturday I took O to breakfast as soon as I woke up, so I didn’t get to run until the evening. Man was it bright outside! I had 3-4 miles on the schedule and was heading for closer to 4 miles when my glute got really painful. With the extra running days, I’m noticing that left side again. Grrrr. I cut it short at 3 miles (with walking the last 0.25 miles) rather than aggravate that hip/leg since I had a 10K planned for Sunday. 3.01 miles at 13:38 (I’m not used to seeing all of these 13s – blaming the weather!). I also got in a couple of hilly miles walking at the zoo with the stroller – quite the workout! I did some body weight strength exercises (avoided the real weights since I was running the 10K on Sunday), yoga stretches and lots of foam rolling when I got back home.

Sunday I woke up bright and early to head out for the Lake Wehrspann 10K. This was my first time running this local 10K – full report to come later – but I knew it was likely to be a small and speedy crowd. I reminded myself I was there for 6 training miles on a new path, not to race. I still ended up running it faster than I had most of the runs this week – 12:19 pace, for a time of 1:16:28, my slowest non-Disney 10K by far. I did lots of self talk to remind myself to slow down, that this was my first week running this much and there was no need to overdo it. All it all, it was a nice new trail to explore and I got a new t-shirt, so win-win! I made sure to foam roll when I got home and do some planks as well.

Love local races with free finish line photos!

Love local races with free finish line photos!

This week’s good deed was reliant entirely on my height and nothing inherently “good” about me – LOL! As I walked into the Health Market section of my local grocery store, a lady called out, “You, you’re tall – can you get those for me?”

An employee came by to find me reaching up to grab these from the back of the shelf and got worried I was going to climb the shelves. :)

An employee came by to find me reaching up to grab these from the back of the shelf and got worried I was going to climb the shelves. 🙂

I don’t really think of myself as tall, but she was 5 feet nothing so I guess I am relatively. I happily fetched down all of the popcorn they had for her. Maybe she was having a party?

My NSV this week has been working in lots of extra little steps, from running out to the back of the zoo parking lot to bring the car back to Oliver and Darrell, to parking away from the entrance of stores. All of those little steps add up, as evidenced by the fact that FitBit announced I’d now tracked 5000 miles. Go me!

I confess: I love getting these little badge notifications. :)

I confess: I love getting these little badge notifications. 🙂

This week, I’ll have another 6 days of running, with the addition of speed work and a longer Sunday run. I need to be diligent with the strength training and foam rolling, as well as nutrition to support all of this good work. 🙂 I also need to keep reminding myself that I’m always slower in the summer and will speed up with more training and with cooler weather to come!

Here’s hoping everyone has a good week!

12 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: 6 days of runs!

  1. Wow great week indeed with all that running and all those steps! Way to go!

  2. Great week for you!!! Keep it going!

  3. Congrats on your first 6-run week! I have come to peace with my 13:xx miles. 🙂 Also great that you were able to keep to a slower pace in the 10k. I think it’s so hard to run races slow when you want to…but also equally hard to run fast when you want to!

  4. Anna says:

    Love that you plank because you are already down on the floor anyway 🙂 I am going to have to remember that little trick. Wow! 5000 miles is crazy 🙂

  5. That sounds like a lot of running!!! Nice that your body is adjusting to it easily.

  6. Man, you are rocking at this! I’m seriously impressed and inspired to get my butt out of bed and just DO IT.

Leave a Reply

